Cinnamon Pork Loin and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
Yummy! This was so easy to prepare. Used the food processor to make slicing faster because I made 2 recipes of it at the same time for a friend. Season the roast with salt and pepper. My potatoes were sliced 4mm or about 3/8 inch and didn't need 1 1/2 hours of cooking. The apple I cut twice as thick as the potatoes and they were close to over done. You could easily double the apple as the potatoes way out number them. I didn't make the sauce to serve it with but I'll try it next time. This is an excellent company recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIVING4HIM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
I made this for my family and they all loved it. I added more potatoes (both kinds) and also more apples. It's super easy to make and smells yummy while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
This recipe was so easy to make and my husband was impressed. He usually doesn't like cinnamon tasting meals because he complains they are too sweet, but surprisingly, despite de cinnamon, sweet potatos and apple, he enjoyed it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
VERY tender and juicy! I loved it, but my husband thought there was a little too much cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DoxieNut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Harbor City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
I must have tried a different recipe than some of you did:) My husband and I loved this! True the gravy was too salty and it also could have used more apples. But the roast was as tender as could be. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
I was very disppointed in this recipe. I cooked it for 2 hours and it was gray in appearance even though it was cooked through. I expected it to look more attractive and fall apart easily, neither of which happened. I followed the recipe exactly so I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barb57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Greene, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2003
I thought that this was just o.k. but my husband enjoyed it a lot. I would say it feeds closer to 8 to 10 people. We had a lot of leftovers. The brown sugar is a nice addition but if you make it, skip on the "gravy" mixture. If you do make the gravy, cut back on salt by using one regular bouillon cube and 2 packets of the low sodium bouillon. It cuts the sodium down to about 1/3 of the original. Over all, we found the gravy to be kind of odd tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
I had high hopes for this recipe based on other reviews and was very disappointed. I'm giving it 2 stars because the pork roast itself was absolutely delicious. It was very tender and flavorful. I attribute this to wrapping my roasting pan tightly in foil as the recipe indicated. However, the recipe as a whole wasn't at all as expected. Based on other reviews, I decided to use an extra apple, a little less butter, and some brown sugar on the sweet potatoes. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. All I could smell or taste in the potatoes was overpowering cinnamon. I agree with another reviewer that the gravy was extremely salty, which I normally would not have liked, but this offset the overwhelming cinnamon-taste a little. I MAY try this recipe again at some point, with a number of modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
My family really enjoyed this recipe, there were no leftovers! I did add brown sugar to the potatoes and the meat as well, and cut back on the butter. Next time I will add more apples. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
This is truly YUMMY!!! I used russet potatoes instead of the red. I would add more of the white potato to balance out the sweet potato, and more apple, just not enough apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

An incredibly simple, flavorful pork roast that needs just four ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States