Cinnamon Pork Loin and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
My sister-in-law and I try a new recipe at least once a month and this one was super and a definite keeper!!!! The meat was very tender and the combination of apples, cinnamon, and potatoes was perfect. Next time we would add a little bit of sugar to the sweet potatoes and the cinnamon but they were still good with just the cinnamon. Thanks Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I thought this recipe was GREAT with a few changes, keeping all of the current reviews in mind. I cut my potatoes and apples (3) very thick, about 1 inch. I tossed the sweet potatoes and apples in 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1 tbsp. brown sugar and threw 2 cinnamon sticks over all and removed the sticks after roasting. (It gave a subtle flavor without being overpowering.) I seasoned the pork liberally with season salt and pepper and uncovered the dish about 20 minutes before removing from the oven to brown everything. I thought the gravy was good too, others thought it was too salty but I just tasted it before I poured it over the roast...you can always add more liquid. Thanks for the recipe, I will definately make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashland, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
I was intrigued by the cinnamon on the sweet potatoes in this recipe and thought I'd give it a try. I thought this dish turned out beautifully. I did change it , but only from my mistake. I forgot to add any butter/margarine to the roast and it was still delicious - and hey, less fat! I really enjoyed the fact that you put it together and then don't need to do anything to it while it's cooking. I had guests over and could take the time to enjoy their company while dinner was cooking. I will recommend this recipe to all my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This was the perfect fall supper! I did take some of the other reviewers' advice and it turned out perfect: I cut the potatoes/sweet potatoes in large wedges instead of slicing them and they held together nicely without falling apart. I also used 2 apples instead of 1. I combined some brown sugar with the cinnamon and instead of doing the bag thing, I just sprinkled some of the mixture lightly over the top of all the potatoes/apples so that it wouldn't be overwhelmed with the cinnamon taste. As for the gravy, I just mixed some of the pan juices with water/cornstarch and heated until thickened. The smell in my whole house while this baked was better than any candle on the market! And the mix of tastes was really great. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
My family really enjoyed this recipe, there were no leftovers! I did add brown sugar to the potatoes and the meat as well, and cut back on the butter. Next time I will add more apples. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
This is truly YUMMY!!! I used russet potatoes instead of the red. I would add more of the white potato to balance out the sweet potato, and more apple, just not enough apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
As I started making this recipe, I thought, "These ingredients are kind of wierd!" But I made it anyway, and my family loved it! I did mix the cinnamon with sugar, and the sweet potatoes were delicious. This would be a good company dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
It was good. I would make it again, but I would really watch out for 160 degree temp more than the hours because it came out dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
The gravy was so salty it was impossible to eat. The roast was all right, but all the potatoes too mushy, and I didn't like the fact that they were cooked in all the juices/fat from the pork. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
I had high hopes for this recipe based on other reviews and was very disappointed. I'm giving it 2 stars because the pork roast itself was absolutely delicious. It was very tender and flavorful. I attribute this to wrapping my roasting pan tightly in foil as the recipe indicated. However, the recipe as a whole wasn't at all as expected. Based on other reviews, I decided to use an extra apple, a little less butter, and some brown sugar on the sweet potatoes. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. All I could smell or taste in the potatoes was overpowering cinnamon. I agree with another reviewer that the gravy was extremely salty, which I normally would not have liked, but this offset the overwhelming cinnamon-taste a little. I MAY try this recipe again at some point, with a number of modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

An incredibly simple, flavorful pork roast that needs just four ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States