Cinnamon Plum Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I absolutely love this jam! The only change I made was that I don't peel the plums.... I love the color the skin gives the finished product! If you don't like the more liquid texture just add a little more pectin. This is a recipe that my husbands boss loves to have so we always make a little extra for his family! A big hit with everyone that has tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Excellent recipe even when using Splenda 1/2 sugar. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This was really easy and delicious. I did not peel my plums to give it the fabulous red color. I skimmed off most of them, but left some in. It didn't seem to affect the taste or texture really. I also doubled the cinnamon and only used 4 cups of sugar. I got a little over 5 half-pint jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I love the idea of spiced jam, so I added some ground cloves and nutmeg as well. Super yummy! But even the cinnamon alone just makes this jam sing. :) I did not peel my plums, so put them through the food processor so they were small-ish chunks and dropped the sugar to 6 cups since my plums were very ripe and sweet. Turned out fine that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I have a plum tree in my yard that produces small, red, very juicy plums. After reading the reviews, I tweaked the recipe a bit, and came up with the best plum jam I have EVER made! And it set up very well. I dropped the sugar to 6 cups, bumped up the pectin to 1 1/2 boxes, and I made it according to the directions on the box, rather than the directions in this particular recipe. I can't really taste the cinnamon, so I'll probably bump that up a little bit too. It made exactly eight cups of jam. I have been told by my fiance that I'm not allowed to give this jam away, so I'm making another batch today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
this tastes AMAZING!! however, i couldn't give it 5 stars because it didn't set up properly with the given instructions. should've followed the tried and true instructions on the pectin...next time :) a quick tip for those who left their peels on, dunking the plums in boiling water for a few seconds followed by an ice bath will make those skins slide right off...the more ripe they are, the less time it takes in the boiling water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by easycookinmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Delicious recipe and my jam came out nice and firm in about 24 hours. Like the reviewer from earlier however, I followed the traditional method of adding the sugar and cinnamon once the other ingredients came to a rolling boil first. I also decreased the amount of sugar by one cup and it still came out very sweet. But then again I doubled the cinnamon as well. Overall, this was my first attempt at jam and it came out as well as I could expect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This recipe was easy and worked well. This is my first time making jam, and it set no problem. That might be because I listed to the other reviewers and put the pectin in with the water and lemon juice. I peeled my plums, and my jam ended up pale and looks like apple jam. I don't mind, but if you want the plum color, you might want to try leaving the peels on like some reviewers. The flavor is good, too, but it's over-poweringly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
First of all, this was my first time canning. The jam sounded appealing, so my husband and I made it with plums from my parents' tree. We doubled the whole recipe and tripled the amount of cinnamon, adding 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg as well. After reading one of the reviews (from the woman who makes jam to sell at farmers' markets) and the directions that came with the pectin, I first added the lemon juice and water to the fruit, then added pectin, brough that to a full rolling boil that can't be stirred down, then added the sugar and spices and brought back to a full rolling boil, and let it boil for one minute. We processed ours in a hot water bath for 20 minutes (10 minutes extra because we're at high altitude), and the jam set beautifully. We opened one, and it has a tangy, sweet, slightly spicy flavor, and a deep burgundy color. The doubled recipe made 14 12-ounce jars of jam; we're saving most of these for small Christmas gifts - the jam tastes like Christmas and would also be a good substitute for cranberry relish at Thanksgiving. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Beautiful and delicious jam! Set perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States