Cinnamon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I did a search for Cinnamon Pie after watching the Dual Spires episode of Psych... This is the only recipe that even popped up under allrecipes for a cinnamon Pie. This recipe Extremely Easy to make... like extremely easy... which is a good thing for me. A lot of times recipes like this are way too complicated... This took about 15 minutes to prepare with the kids getting in the way and 45 min to bake and about an hour to cool at room tempature. Mine didn't really look like the picture though.. I know some people said it looks 'ugly' beucase of the color, yes, it is ugly, but to me it looks like a pumpkin pie just a little on the darker side. If you like cinnamon you will like this... and if you are not a HUGE cinnamon fan.. I still think you might like it.. I am not huge on cinnamon, but I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermiston, Oregon, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
Its not very often that i write reviews to recipes but i just had to this time. this pie was GREAT. When you make it, the "batter" will be very thin almost like milkey. and when you take it out of the oven it will giggle. Just let it cool for 30 minutes, Don't worry though. it will be great. And for the crust i recomend using the "buttery crunch crust" recipe on this site. It went GREAT together. Try this, it is awsome with a cup of coffee the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
The filling is a very thin liquid before you bake it but when its done and cooled it becomes more of a cinnamon custard. Its a very ugly pie to look at because the surface of the pie develops into a brownish crust but it is verrrrrry tasty especially with whipped cream. Make it for taste and not for looks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I was so excited about finding this pie, but after reading the reviews I got a little worried about the texture of the pie, so I made a few adjustments: I added an egg and an extra teaspoon of cinnamon, I subbed the milk in recipe for a 12oz can evaporated milk, and for a little something extra I sprinkled some Hershey's cinnamon chips on the bottom before I ladeled in the filling. The pie was absolutely delicious!! It had the perfect custard texture that I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This is my favorite pie of all time although I have not used this particular recipe yet , but I can tell by looking that it will turn out exactly as its supposed to . I grew up with these . For those who don't know ,its merely a slightly different(& less expensive :) version of what , in this area, is called "Sugar Cream Pie " . If you look up that one you'll see what I mean . Its often made with a dusting of nutmeg on top , although I prefer cinnamon. Around here , its not an oddity , its a classic , often found on restaurant menus & well worth a try , but be warned , its wonderfully rich !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIBRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
The flavor of this recipe was great but the consistency was a little weird. When I took it out of the oven after an hour I didn't think it was anywhere near done but it was perfect after sitting on a cooling rack for an hour or so. As other reviewers suggested, I used the Buttery Crunch Crust recipe from this site. The recipes complimented each other very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosebud, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This pie was very easy to make. Yes, after I took it out of the oven, it did take a little while to "set". It was like a custard. Was very good with coffee ice cream! I'll definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duckluck
Home Town: Loxley, Alabama, USA
Living In: Bokeelia, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I thought this was pretty good. The texture is a little carmelized on top and underneath it's like a pecan pie texture without the nuts. It is very nice with a good flavor. A snap to put together as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
i have been looking for a way to use pie crust without a fruit or chocolate or anything else in it due to my husband is allergic to everything but he loves cinnamon and it was awesome he ate half the pie in about 10 minutes. it was delicious thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I tried this after watching the Dual Spires episode of Psych, and wasn't sure what to expect. This is a nice homey type pie. Nothing fancy or exotic, but comfortably delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States