Cinnamon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This was my first experience baking a custard pie, so it was a learning process. To address some of the issues other negative reviewers had: before making this I researched and found that with custard pie, it's best to blind (pre) bake the crust, this prevents the sogginess. For a smoother custard, filling mixture should be blended just enough to combine the ingredients, but no more. I added the eggs second to last (just before the milk), after everything else had been well blended. I had two reasons I did this. Firstly,the butter was still warm from the melting process, so I wanted to make sure that it was cooled down enough that it would not begin to cook the egg prematurely. The second reason being that the egg would not be overly beaten. The texture turned out pretty good; mostly smooth overall. The flavor was okay. I did add a little more cinnamon than the recipe called for, but I still felt like it was kind of blah. I don't think I'll make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Like several other reviewers I first started looking for a recipe for cinnamon pie after watching the Psych episode with the Cinnamon Festival. This was a very easy recipe to make and tastes excellent. I used a little more cinnamon that called for and, as suggested, use a can of condensed milk instead of the regular milk called for. I also used a ready made pie crust so it was very simple indeed. I highly recommend this pie to everyone that likes cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony Walls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I love cinnamon pie and this is as close as I can find to what my aunt used to make but I don't believe she used an egg. Just milk, sugar, cinnamon and either flour or corn starch to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Platt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
like so many others i saw this on a tv show and got curious. it is great we will be having this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I am not a big pie person but I too wanted to try this after Psych. This pie was good. I made this twice, once following the recipe and once with a little variation. I got to say that the original recipe was a little flavorless and a little too runny for my taste. The second time I made it I added a 1/4 cup of brown sugar, one egg, 1 1/2 of cinnamon and 1 tbls of flour. I also reduced the milk to 1 1/4 cup. This gave it a better taste and a texture similar to pumpkin pie. I did as others suggested and used the Buttery Crunch Crust recipe, and I would suggest leaving out the pecans with the original recipe because it seemed to overpower the taste of the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I enjoy unique recipes so I had to try this one. Since the first pie, I've made this several times. The last time I made it I thought I would have left-overs... yeah right! My three kiddos (8,7,5) finished the whole thing. My 5 year old son "This is the best pie!" It's the best. I will be making it for some curious family members at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
The flavor was totally there but the consistency was WAY off. Mine was kinda greasy, maybe the next time I try I will leave it in an extra 20 mins or so. I also wish it was thicker. At this thickness its more like cinnamon 'tart'... too bad because Psych totally has me craving this. I made it with the Rum-Spiked Horchata recipe on this site and the two are perfect together. I hope I can find someone who is good with pies for suggestions on how to make this more like what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This was AMAZING!!! Like other reviewers, we found this recipe after watching the Psych Cinnamon Festival episode. LOL :) It was SO good & so crazy easy to make. Thanks so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
My family loved this pie! I followed the directions exactly and it turned out perfectly, looking like the picture. It is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by superjae5
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This was a HUGE hit at Thanksgiving. The first time we attempted it, we used reconstituted powdered milk. Well, I'm sure you can guess how it turned out. It was watery, pulled away from the shell, consistency was more like flan went wrong. Next time I went all out (this is pie after all) and did whole milk. Night and day difference! It was perfect. It helps to let it cool in the fridge overnight too I think. I got the beautiful 3 layers, and people who swore they were too full for pie gobbled up a whole piece after one bite. I, too, searched for this recipe because of Psych. It doesn't exactly look like the Psych pie, but who cares, it's ridiculously delicious! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. Again, I recommend you use whole milk and let it cool overnight. I also followed the directions exactly (mixing the ingredients separately as directed). It will turn out for you. And enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States