Cinnamon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I am not a big pie person but I too wanted to try this after Psych. This pie was good. I made this twice, once following the recipe and once with a little variation. I got to say that the original recipe was a little flavorless and a little too runny for my taste. The second time I made it I added a 1/4 cup of brown sugar, one egg, 1 1/2 of cinnamon and 1 tbls of flour. I also reduced the milk to 1 1/4 cup. This gave it a better taste and a texture similar to pumpkin pie. I did as others suggested and used the Buttery Crunch Crust recipe, and I would suggest leaving out the pecans with the original recipe because it seemed to overpower the taste of the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I enjoy unique recipes so I had to try this one. Since the first pie, I've made this several times. The last time I made it I thought I would have left-overs... yeah right! My three kiddos (8,7,5) finished the whole thing. My 5 year old son "This is the best pie!" It's the best. I will be making it for some curious family members at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
The flavor was totally there but the consistency was WAY off. Mine was kinda greasy, maybe the next time I try I will leave it in an extra 20 mins or so. I also wish it was thicker. At this thickness its more like cinnamon 'tart'... too bad because Psych totally has me craving this. I made it with the Rum-Spiked Horchata recipe on this site and the two are perfect together. I hope I can find someone who is good with pies for suggestions on how to make this more like what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This was AMAZING!!! Like other reviewers, we found this recipe after watching the Psych Cinnamon Festival episode. LOL :) It was SO good & so crazy easy to make. Thanks so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
My family loved this pie! I followed the directions exactly and it turned out perfectly, looking like the picture. It is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by superjae5
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This was a HUGE hit at Thanksgiving. The first time we attempted it, we used reconstituted powdered milk. Well, I'm sure you can guess how it turned out. It was watery, pulled away from the shell, consistency was more like flan went wrong. Next time I went all out (this is pie after all) and did whole milk. Night and day difference! It was perfect. It helps to let it cool in the fridge overnight too I think. I got the beautiful 3 layers, and people who swore they were too full for pie gobbled up a whole piece after one bite. I, too, searched for this recipe because of Psych. It doesn't exactly look like the Psych pie, but who cares, it's ridiculously delicious! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. Again, I recommend you use whole milk and let it cool overnight. I also followed the directions exactly (mixing the ingredients separately as directed). It will turn out for you. And enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This is a really great pie. I did not even know about cinnamon pie until I watch the episode of Duel Spires on Psych and looked it up. It is now my favorite pie. So yummy with whipped cream. I modified mine a little with two eggs instead of one and halfed the milk with condensed milk for a custudy feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
A wonderful recipe! Tastes amazing and so easy a 6 year old can make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joakleyjames

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I tried this after watching the Dual Spires episode of Psych, and wasn't sure what to expect. This is a nice homey type pie. Nothing fancy or exotic, but comfortably delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I was horrified when I saw the ugly mess I made is the pie shell..almost angry when I saw the thin grey ooze baking in the oven. But I waited it out. And OH MY GOODNESS I'm glad I did!! After it cooled in the fridge it settled into the most wonderful layered custard pie.. we all couldn't get enough of it!! In fact my family fought over the last piece!! Definitely a keeper!!! Dont be scaed of it guys and gals.. it'll all work out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States