Cinnamon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
It looks like I'm the only one who had this boil over in the oven.After the first 10 minutes I heard something sizzling and then smelled the burning sugar,I opened the oven door to be greeted by a cloud of smoke.I turned the heat down to 300 for the rest of the 45 minutes and that seemed to stop it from boiling over anymore.If I try this again (and that's a BIG if)I'll start it off in a 375 degree oven and go down to 300 and watch it like a hawk.And I'd put the pie plate on top of a cookie sheet just in case.The taste was only so so when I tried it but after it sat awhile the taste improved some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Very good flavor. (If you like rice pudding). It tastes very milky, and very cinnamony. Very rice pudding-y. The consistency leave a lot to be desired though. For some reason my pie seemed to split into three seperate layers. Bottom: a rather thick paste-like (flour) layer, Middle: a layer that looked like curdled milk, Top: and a brown cinnamon layer on top. I think it could use a little bit more thickening. Maybe another egg, or possibly more flour. I'm not sure, give me a couple more tries and i'll know. All in all it was good, but not great. My pie still had not set after a day, so i poured out the liquid and ate what was left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tularosa, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Ruidoso, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This was thin and milky on its way into the crust; and jiggly when it came out of the oven, but once it set it was a lovely custard. The top of the pie looks like the surface of the moon; not pretty but delicious. I used the Buttery Crunch Crust as other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
A fantastic pie, but it still remained watery, even after cooling on a pie rack for over an hour. I think I'll cut the milk to a cup next time and see how it comes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
made as written - turned out great - looked like superjae5 picture - and agree it looks thin when you put it together and it takes time to set - scrummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Bradfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This pie was "TO DIE FOR". My boyfriend ate almost the whole pie watching TV last night, and finished it for breakfast. The only change I made was I used 1 cup heavy wihpping cream and 1/2 cup whole milk because that was what I had in the house. Also topped it with more whipping cream (what diet?)Thanks Sharon for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chatsworth, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Start with all of the ingredients at room temperature and this pie will turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This is my favorite pie of all time although I have not used this particular recipe yet , but I can tell by looking that it will turn out exactly as its supposed to . I grew up with these . For those who don't know ,its merely a slightly different(& less expensive :) version of what , in this area, is called "Sugar Cream Pie " . If you look up that one you'll see what I mean . Its often made with a dusting of nutmeg on top , although I prefer cinnamon. Around here , its not an oddity , its a classic , often found on restaurant menus & well worth a try , but be warned , its wonderfully rich !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIBRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
hi I am writting review on this site for the first time .Recipe was GREAT . Although i find problems in preparing it but still i love it .my dad doesnt find it very good . but my other family member do like it Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Wonderful... it what we call a (Melk Tert) milk tart in south africa every home has its own version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States