Cinnamon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
We followed the recipe exactly and it came out pretty much as the previous reviews indicated. We let it cool for over an hour before digging in and it had a thin custard consistentcy. This is defintely an "old school" recipe that screams for a cup of coffee. We will make it again with potentially an adjustment to thicken up the pie a bit but that's the only change we will make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fry Daddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Wow, this was great! First time for cinnamon pie and I loved it! It's amazing how 1 t. of cinnamon can flavor so much pie. Crazy! It really tastes best cooled. Otherwise the texture is can be soupy. I used my 10" fiestaware pie pan and it could have handled another 50%. Next time I'll increase the filling. And there will be a next time! Yum! *Update* My husband said, "This is one of the best pies that I've ever eaten." Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I was so excited about finding this pie, but after reading the reviews I got a little worried about the texture of the pie, so I made a few adjustments: I added an egg and an extra teaspoon of cinnamon, I subbed the milk in recipe for a 12oz can evaporated milk, and for a little something extra I sprinkled some Hershey's cinnamon chips on the bottom before I ladeled in the filling. The pie was absolutely delicious!! It had the perfect custard texture that I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
The taste was good, but it was very watery. I followed the instructions to the T (except I added about 1/2 tsp more cinnamon), but the consistency was not very good. I will try to find a new recipe for this. I was going to take it to work for our office tomorrow, but I decided against it because of the way it set up (or lack of).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Made the recipe exactly as stated. It came out watery and curdled looking. I can usually find a way to save a recipe, even after it's cooked but not this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Delicious!! I baked this for my family, and it was GREAT! A definite must-have. It is a little bit sweet for adults, but kids love it! Don't get scared if it's EXTREMELY watery at first..It turns out great in the end!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This was very good and everyone in my family enjoyed it. I did not have to bake this as long, maybe because I used a tad more flour. Also added approx. 1/2 teaspoon more cinnamon and thought that was perfect. Per other reviews/suggestions, I used the Buttery Crunch Crust and this worked out very well. I will make this again, probably closer to Thanksgiving/Christmas. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Delicious. I was paranoid that I had done something wrong because it was so jiggly even after having been in the oven so long, but it was the perfect consistency--jiggly is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
So yummy! My pie separated into three distinct layers. I used a whole wheat/nut crust. 1 cup Wheat flour, 1/2 c butter softened, 1/4 c chopped nuts, and 1/4 c brown sugar. Press all togther in the pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I brought this over to my in-laws. When we cut into it, it was extremely watery. I'm the only one who actually ate it and thought it was okay taste wise. But because of what it looked like no one else wanted to eat it. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States