Cinnamon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I Also Searched For This After The Dual Spires Episode Of Psych. So Glad I Did. Yum, Yum, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Great recipe! Like others, I went looking for this after the Psych episode and was not disappointed. I substituted brown sugar for white and used 2 tsp of cinnamon but otherwise, made it as the recipe was written. It made the house smell wonderful!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This recipe is good and turned out great but based on other reviews, I did make some changes. I used a 9 in. frozen pie crust, 1/2 cup liquid egg substitute, 3/4 cup sugar, 2 tsp. cinnamon, and 1 cup milk. If you love cinnamon, 1 tsp. will not be enough. Using less milk makes it not as runny and the extra egg makes it a little thicker. In my opinion, it was too sweet even with less sugar and next time I will use 1/2 cup sugar instead. I will also decrease the amount of butter by half as well. The frozen premade pie crust I used did fine and was not too soggy. I used the directions for baking it and it was jiggly when I got it out but it firmed up soon after. It's a thin pie but still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I too looked for a cinnamon pie recipe after watching the Dual Spires episode of Psych. The family LOVES it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is a holiday favorite in my family, served with a dollop of whipped cream. After watching Psych's Dual Spires episode with the cinnamon festival and the guys drooling over Cinnamon Pie, we had to try it! It is a light custard consistency and very tasty. Enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Very tasty, and very easy. I too was brought here after being Psych-inspired. This pie as great. Alterations I made were: used 1/2 cup of heavy cream in place of 1/2 cup of milk, used brown sugar instead of white, and added a tsp of cinnamon. Next time I will likely add even more cinnamon - but I am a huge cinnamon fan. Other reviewers have commented that this pie is kind of ugly, and I'll admit that it's not the most attractive dessert that I've ever made, or eaten, but the taste more than makes up for it. Overall I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This was my first experience baking a custard pie, so it was a learning process. To address some of the issues other negative reviewers had: before making this I researched and found that with custard pie, it's best to blind (pre) bake the crust, this prevents the sogginess. For a smoother custard, filling mixture should be blended just enough to combine the ingredients, but no more. I added the eggs second to last (just before the milk), after everything else had been well blended. I had two reasons I did this. Firstly,the butter was still warm from the melting process, so I wanted to make sure that it was cooled down enough that it would not begin to cook the egg prematurely. The second reason being that the egg would not be overly beaten. The texture turned out pretty good; mostly smooth overall. The flavor was okay. I did add a little more cinnamon than the recipe called for, but I still felt like it was kind of blah. I don't think I'll make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Like several other reviewers I first started looking for a recipe for cinnamon pie after watching the Psych episode with the Cinnamon Festival. This was a very easy recipe to make and tastes excellent. I used a little more cinnamon that called for and, as suggested, use a can of condensed milk instead of the regular milk called for. I also used a ready made pie crust so it was very simple indeed. I highly recommend this pie to everyone that likes cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony Walls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I love cinnamon pie and this is as close as I can find to what my aunt used to make but I don't believe she used an egg. Just milk, sugar, cinnamon and either flour or corn starch to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
like so many others i saw this on a tv show and got curious. it is great we will be having this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States