Cinnamon Pickled Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I made these last night to serve. Followed the recipe exactly and they are delicious. I will definitely be making these again but I think I will add a little onion next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
These were really great! We liked the spices and accidentally used some rutabegas (I think I spelled that wrong) because we thought they were beets too but it was all good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I am right this moment enjoying my pickled beets. I did feel like the beets themselves got lost in the cinnamon-ness, though, so when I make this again (which I will definitely do) I'll probably cut that down. I used fresh beets, which I boiled in their skins until soft, then peeled and sliced, using the cooking liquid as my base. I also added onions to the brine. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Very good! Sweet beets and the sugar/vinegar/cinnamon really helped to diminish the earthy beet taste. Also, the vinegar isn't that strong once this is ready to eat. I used fresh beets from my garden, just boiled 'em for an hour or so until they were tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rude Nun

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
this was good i do it a lot because my family think i slave when i can but i add sliced onons to my broth when its heating and it really makes them taste like grandmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
after unsuccessfully scouring my kitchen for my grandmother's recipe for pickled beets, I decided to come to allrecipes... and again, wasn't disappointed. This is as close to grandma's as I've seen. The only change was that she always tossed in a few cloves... probably 1/2t or so. I just heard my kids in the basement, "do you smell that? She's cooking beets again." so I must be doing SOMETHING right. :) Who cares if I'm the only one in the house who loves these? Thanks a bunch, TasteKing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marengo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Very Nice. Cinnamon adds a very nice change. Thank you for an easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I'll admit, were not beet lovers here, but my friend had extra beets from their garden and was over for dinner tonight so we used this recipe. They just loved it, though I didn't try it cause I hate beets they just loved it so I printed out the recipe for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States