Cinnamon Pancakes in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Pretty simple to make, and they taste pretty good, although not outstanding. I made up a few jars for christmas gifts for teachers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
These were good. Definitely fluffy!! I'm planning on making them for Christmas Morning Gift Baskets for friends and neighbors so wanted to try them first. I had to add more cinnamon and milk. I served them to my family with cinnamon applesauce and scrambled eggs! The whole batch made about a dozen normal sized pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I didn't bother making this for a jar, I just went ahead and made a batch of this for the family this morning. I made the whole thing so I could have enough pancakes for a couple days. I had to play with the recipe a bit because it dosen't really come out right. The whole dry mix makes three cups of mix but the measurement of adding wet to dry asks for 1 1/3 cups of the dry which comes out to more than the recipe makes. I make pancakes a lot so I kind of knew what to use for the whole dry mix ingredients (two eggs, two cups buttermilk, 1/4 cup melted butter/vegetable oil, two teaspoons vanilla). I used a mixture of whole wheat flour and AP flour, buttermilk instead of regular milk and melted butter instead of vegetable oil. I served these pancakes with homemade maple-vanilla syrup. We LOVED them. There's just enough leftover for a small two-boy breakfast tomorrow (or a midnight snack for the husband, if he so chooses) which is good enough for me. I'll make this pancake recipe again, using my changes. NOTE: Remember that this pancake batter will be thick--so don't panic and think you've messed up your pancakes. It's supposed to look like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Good but could use more sugar. I use half white flour and half whole wheat flour. I used unsweetened almond milk (didn't have normal milk) and applesauce instead of the oil. Like other reviewers did, I used 1 cup milk and 5 t cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Wow. I mean serously ... wow. I was *not* expecting much from recipe after reading reviews, but I'm SO glad I tried. 4* for taste (they are a tad bit on the heavy side), 5* for ease of prep. Made exactly as directed - only change in preparing was going with the 1 cup milk to 1 1/4 cup mix (but didn't use it all - shy about an 1/8th of a cup). One "batch" gave me 8 nice size pancakes which we devoured. Thanks so much for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Prior to making these into gifts, I decided to test the recipe myself, and I'm glad I did. As other reviewers mentioned, the batter was extremely thick. I did however, try making a pancake before altering the original recipe to give the recipe the beneift of the doubt. It wasn't to my liking so I added approximately 1/4 cup of additional milk to the remaining batter. I made another pancake and decided to add a little vanilla, approximately 1/2 teaspoon. As others have mentioned, limiting the dry ingredients to 1 /4 cup to 1 cup milk would probably be the appropriate ratios for pancake batter. This would have been a 5* recipe if the dry/wet ratios were accurate. Otherwise, great tasting pancake with maple syrup. My 4 year old came into the kitchen and asked if we were having cinnamon rolls. They smelled delicious while cooking. One more note: Why would you layer everything if you only use part of the mix to make batter? You force your gift recipient to use it all or mix it up themselves and put the remaining back in the jar. I am not layering this recipe and mixing it up before packaging it. Sure, it is probably prettier by layering but just not practical with this recipe unless you plan to use the whole jar at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
These were just wonderful. I made two batches for breakfast and only two remain. The family loved them! I did adjust the mix to 1 1/4 and the milk to 1 cup as another reviewer suggested and the consistency was much better. I also added cinnamon chips. I plan on making these as Christmas gifts this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This is wondeful! I was given as a gift in a freezer bag wrapped in a pretty dish towel with instructions and the recipe (photo for example)... My boys love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I was impressed with this recipe. If you are craving cinnamon rolls try these, they are really good. Light and fluffy and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Verde Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I made these for our family and we loved them. I made them to give out for Christmas too. I did 1 1/4 cups of dry mix to 1 cup of milk, 1 egg, 1 T of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States