Cinnamon Heart Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This tasty treat is spectacular. I have made it many times now and am so pleased. I LOVE Red Hots. This popcorn is delicately coated in the cinnamon confection and is a breeze to make. I agree with RMSR, the butter can be cut. I've experimented and think that 1/2 cup butter is best with about 1/4 cup more cinnamon candies. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This was very good, a great way to use up leftover candy hearts. The other reviewer said she had problems with the length of time baking in the oven along with the pocorn being chewy, I belive that is because she used honey and not the corn syrup. But I do agree that the butter can be cut down to 1/4 cup, I found that to be enough for the coating. I also sugest that you keep the popcorn warm in the oven until you are ready to pour on the candy, this will help it to coat more even when you stir it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTAL88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sylvan Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
The only changes were to use honey instead of corn syrup (didn't have any) and only one cup of the hearts. I thought the flavour of the candies came through well enough this way. I did bake them longer than 30 minutes (closer to an hour) but they're still quite sticky (set, but not completely- was afraid to burn them if left longer). There was still an excess amount of the coating after the baking stage, which left the popcorn chewy, not crunchy. I would use more popcorn next time and maybe a little less butter as they were greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Only used 1/2 cup of butter-couldn't bring myself to use more. I popped almost a cup of kernels for the recipe and it was still very strong tasting. It looks very 'Chirstmasy', too. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This is extra yummy! All my kids couldn't keep out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I was so shocked at how much I liked this! My granddaughters loved it, too! I wanted to make something for their swim day, but my store didn't have the regular red hots. I used Hot Tamales, which look more like a gel capsule for vitamins! They didn't quite melt well, and that is exactly what they loved about this! I made only half a batch, and it took a whole tray lined with parchment for the baking part. I did pop my own corn, using nearly 4 tablespoons of kernals for the batch. Now I have an order to make this again very soon. I started something here! Or should I say that CLField did! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I loved this recipe. I could not find Red Hots so I used 1 1/2 Cups Hard Cinnamon Fire Jolly Ranchers. They worked just fine. I also used just 1/2 Cup butter. Did everything else the same. Can't wait to try some of the other flavors of Jolly Ranchers. Thank you for a very fun recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I just finished my first tester batch of these. I went down to 2 servings (1 cup popcorn) and ended up using almost 2 cups popcorn. I left it cooking at 300 for half hour and they were perfectly crisp! The coating was enough to not get stuck in your teeth and a nice subtle touch of cinnamon. I'm making this for valentines!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
This is a good recipe if you want a really sweet, cinnamon popcorn. I prefer mine to be a little more spicy, but my kids and my husband loved it. I did have it on the stove longer then anticipated as it took a long time to melt the red hots. After they melted, then I boiled for five minutes. I also didn't bother with the parchment paper or the bowl. I put all the popcorn in a prepared roasting pan which I kept in the oven as another reviewer suggested, and then poured the boiling candy over it. I mixed it up before putting it in the oven and about four times while it was in the oven. Thanks for the yummy (and easy) recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Funky Popcorn

Light, airy buttered popcorn starring the aromatic flavors of the Middle East.

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Ashley & Whitney's Popcorn & Pretzel Snack Mix

Toss your favorite snack foods with melted chocolate and bake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States