Cinnamon Hazelnut Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Q'scooking
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This is very good. I added 2 tsp of cinnamon, 2 tsp of vanilla, 1 cup of chocolate chips, walnuts instead of the hazelnuts and drizzled chocolate on top. It might have all been a little to much...the next time im not adding the chocolate chips or nuts....im just going for the cinnamon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q'scooking
Living In: Avonmore, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Dig it!!! Great base recipe...therefore if you want to make biscotti for the holidays use this recipe and then add whatever you'd like to it. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
These are wonderful...a real keeper. I've tried lots of biscotti recipes and this is one of the best. I made them exactly like the recipe said. I used a pastry scraper to cut them when they came out of the oven. Worked like a charm! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by destinym
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Delicious biscotti! It's very light and crispy, yet not rock hard like other biscotti. I omitted the hazelnuts, and drizzled vanilla glaze. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
These are delicious and somewhat different than the usual almond biscotti. I did chop up the hazelnuts, but left the skins on. I also sprinkled cinnamon/sugar over the logs before the firs t baking. Be sure to let them cool about 15 minutes before slicing for the second baking, and turn them on their sides to bake. I discovered a cool product at Trader Joe's--a grinder containing sugar,coffee, and chocolate! Next time, I will use that instead of the cinnamoin/sugar for a "Cappaccino Biscotti"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Really good! Needed a lot of bench flour since the dough was really mushy and sticky. I always cut my biscotti hot to avoid breaking them. These aren't very sweet which is fantastic in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brighteyedbaker
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Once I found this recipe, I haven't even bothered looking for another biscotti recipe. It's the perfect base for any adaptations. I wrote about my adaptation on my blog: confessionsofabrighteyedbaker.com, but these are the basics: I use 2 tsp of almond extract rather than the vanilla extract and skip the cinnamon so as to concentrate on the almond flavor. I either use 1 cup of slivered almonds or leave out the nuts altogether. I also prefer crispier biscotti than the original recipe makes, so I recommend doing the second bake for 10 minutes on each side. Once the biscotti have cooled, I pour melted dark chocolate on top (about 1 cup), and sprinkle slivered almonds over the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brighteyedbaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This was my first attempt at making biscotti…and I will look no further for an amazing recipe! I love the hint of cinnamon and the powerful hazelnuts. These are perfect for dipping into a cup of hot, steamy coffee or chai tea. You will not regret investing your time and effort into these babies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
you MUST try this recipe. Look no further!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by powersce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chella
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I don't do well with baking, so when I chose to make this recipe for a gift, I decided to do a practice run first. "They were fantastic!" "Looks like they came from a store!" are the comments I've been hearing all morning. I don't like biscotti, so I haven't tried them. But I trust their opinions, so I am confident they came out very nicely. I did make a few changes. And when I make it the next time, I will do a couple more adjustments. On the advice of other reviewers, I doubled the cinnamon. However, my taste testers say you can still BARELY taste it. So, I'll be using 2 teaspoons of it next time. I also used less hazelnuts than called for and I did half vanilla and half almond extract. As for working with the dough, it really is very easy to work with! If you are having THAT many problems with it, you must've really messed up somewhere, is all I can say. During the actual baking process, I baked it for 25 minutes. I tried the serrated knife, but it still crumbled a little (I am going to cream the sugar and butter VERY well next time), so I'll give a butcher's knife a try next. The second time I baked them, I left them on for an extra 5 minutes and then I just shut the oven off and left them in the oven for 15 more minutes. I was a little concerned about how crispy they'd get, but they really are CRISPY! I am thrilled with the results and am very excited to give them away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States