Cinnamon Hazelnut Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
These were just fabulous!! I covered them with foil during the last 10 minute of baking. After they're done, turn off the oven and let them sit inside until almost cool (check them from time to time to make sure they're not too done). They got nice and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Update: I made these again and they were not good. I finally figured out I used 3/4 stick of butter - not 3/4 Cup of butter. Big difference, learn from my mistake. They weren't so bad we couldn't eat them, just extra dense and little too crumbly. I wonder if that's what others did who have complained of them being too dense or crumbly. Original: Wow! So easy and so good! I must say that I had a hard time believing anyone could "shape doough into a log" and "place logs on baking sheet." My dough was more like a wet batter, but I managed. I almost decided I must've forgotten a cup of flour and needed to put more in. Thankfully I didn't because the final product was out of this world. I didn't have hazelnuts on hand so subbed with 1/2 chopped pecans and 1/2 chocolate chips. Left them in the warm oven as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Not bad but very odd consistancy, biscotti is usually hard but these were very dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This was really good and smelled terrific while it was baking! The only problem was that the biscotti started to break when I tried to cut it, so I ended up with half a batch of smaller pieces. Fortunately, it didn't affect the taste - fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Yummy!! So good dipped in coffee :) The chocolate on top definitely adds to the deliciousness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
The house smells so good when you're baking these! Don't cheat yourself by using shortening or margarine. Use the best quality, unsalted butter. I perfer using pecans to hazlenuts and putting a strusel topping on the logs. These make really good gifts and they're nice to have on hand during the holidays when unexpected guests pop in for coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This is the best biscotti recipe I've ever used. I followed the recipe exactly and the biscotti came out perfectly. I'll use this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Riverbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by L.P.L.
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I made my first batch of biscotti using this recipe. They're perfectly sweet and just great without nuts. I'll double the cinnamon the next time if I want them to be "cinnamony." Also, I tried sprinkling cinnamon sugar mixture on top of the cookies before the second round of baking, but it wasn't worth it. I rated this five stars because this can be a good basic biscotti recipe for some tweaks e.g. omitting cinnamon and subbing vanilla for coconut extract. Thanks for such a versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.P.L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Fabulous! I toasted the hazelnuts (10 minutes at 350 degrees) and then coarsely chopped them. I substituted one cup of whole wheat flour and cut back a little on the sugar. I also threw in some dark chocolate chunks... and they are wonderful! I'll be doing a white and dark chocolate drizzle and boy, will the boyfriend be extremely happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
These are amazing-Like the others, I doubled the cinnamon and used almonds instead of hazelnuts. Will make this recipe again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States