Cinnamon Griddle Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This is for the pancakes only. I used buttermilk and cut back the cinnamon to a tsp. because I served it with Absolute Best Pancake Syrup, also from this site. I'm one of those that kept the corn syrup in and kept the baking powder at it's original four tbsp. I made the batter last night and cooked it on my griddle this morning. I had no problems. It spread nicely and cooked evenly. My whole family loved these pancakes, especially with the syrup. The pancakes cooked up incredibly fluffy. I was pleasantly surprized. It really does taste like a cinnamon roll. This recipe's a keeper. EDITED REVIEW: I "sift" the ingredients together with a wisk before adding all the wet, which I've also whisked all together in a smaller bowl. This prevents overmixing. If you make this the night before, like I do, let it sit out a bit before you spoon it on the griddle. This made nine large pancakes. NOTE: Adding chopped crisp bacon to this was a genius idea. It was so good it should be illegal. We ate every single pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
It's very easy to make this recipe with much less sugar! Leave off the corn syrup (ugh - corn syrup) and don't prepare the topping. If the batter seems a bit thick because you left off the corn syrup, just stir in an additional tablespoon of milk. I made these cakes in this fashion and used a sugar-free syrup as a topping. It was so yummy! Thank you for a great inspirational recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Per the picture, I was expecting pancakes. But, these puffed up more than regular 'cakes and "Biscuits" is a more appropriate choice of word. Skipped the corn syrup, used the extra TBS of milk, and GOBS more cinnamon. The husband, who usually isn't dazzled by breakfast said, "You toss some raisins in and these would be EXACTLY like the biscuits you used to get at Hardee's". Adding to the paper box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
Great Pancakes! My family was praising me this morning with their mouths full (where have their manners gone?)!!! Everyone liked them. We too poured maple syrup over all, just like a pancake but they do have the taste of a cinnamon roll. I added a little extra cinnamon to taste. Otherwise, didn't change a thing! Thanks Emily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
These were just passably okay for me. I wasn't impressed for a number of reasons. The batter, and the resulting pancakes, are thick, heavy - not nearly as light, fluffy and springy as I would have liked. And rather than being pleasantly spiced with cinnamon, it was almost cinnamon overkill, which left a not-so-pleasant cinnamon overkill aftertaste. I did make the powdered sugar syrup, which was actually sort of nice, but to tell you the truth, I think I'd rather have the cinnamon in IT rather than in the pancakes! Fun to try, and probably could be tweaked to be made better (a little more melted butter and milk, a little less baking powder and cinnamon) but I wasn't thrilled enough with these to try and give it another shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
My kids' breakfast of choice is pancakes so we are always looking for new pancake recipes. These were a HUGE hit! Typically, my kids each eat most or all of one plate-size pancake. This morning, they each ate TWO each! I asked if they were especially hungry and they replied, "No, these were just extra good!" Per the suggestion of other reviewers, I omitted corn syrup (didn't have)and added an extra teaspoon of cinnamon. I made the icing and was glad I did. The kids really enjoyed the change from regular maple syrup. Be careful though, you don't need to use much. Try this recipe; you'll be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
Although this recipe is delicious, it's so very high in sugar! If there was some way to alter the recipe so that one didn't get a sugar buzz (and crash) after eating it, the recipe would be a five-star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Best. Pancakes. Ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
I substituted honey for the corn syrup and added a dash of maple extract. The pancakes tasted great, but the extra-thick batter had a tendency to burn before getting done in the middle. Will make again, but experiment with changes to the recipe to prevent scorching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPACIESTACIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marshall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
These were not bad. Next time will definitely add more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States