Cinnamon Cranraisin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
This recipe frustrated me! The FIRST time I made this, I followed other reviewers suggestions to increase the sugar by 1 T. and cranraisins to 1 c., and because it sounded good, I added some walnuts...the bread didn't rise so I figured it must be my fault. I tested my brand new yeast to make sure it was active and made this again. The SECOND time I used the ingredients exactly in the amounts as written and prepared this in the bread maker on the dough setting. I rolled it out and let it rise the second time in a regular loaf pan before baking in the oven. For the second rise I kept adding hours on to the rise time, eventually letting it rise about 4.5 hours, and it still hadn't quite doubled in volume. The texture of the bread is dense and really it just wasn't worth all the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This was gone in 1 day. Very flavorful bread. I used 1 c of wheat flour instead of 1 c of all purpose. I also added 4 tbsp of honey instead of sugar. I used a mix of cranberries, cherries, raisins, and blueberries. I am making this again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
The whole family love this recipe. Though I did change 3 things after reading all the reviews. I added 1/4 sugar instead of 2 Tblsps, added 2 heaping Tblsps of cinnamon and last I also added 1 cup cranraisins instead of the 1/2. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fduffley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Excellent bread - we like it made with 2tbsp honey instead of white sugar and 1 cup of craisins (chopped).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Great just the way it is! Not too sweet, not too plain. But next time I make it I will double the cinnamon since I love it so much and I would also double the craisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This bread is really good but it needed more cinnamon and more sugar. It was rather bland. I tried it a second time with more cinnamon and sugar and wit was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlohaDelSol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This bread is absolutely delicious and turned out perfectly in my bread machine! My kids gave it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I made this bread without the craisins. The texture was excellent and it baked beautifully. It needed more sweetness. I used honey instead of sugar and I don't think I put in enough. The bread made great French Toast. I will definitely make again but I might try brown sugar next time to improve the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This needed way more cinnamon and sugar. It was really bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nyki

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
The only change I made was to omit the cranberries and add 1 Tblspn of ground cinnamon. I used this bread to make french toast the next day...next time I will select the light crust, instead of medium, on the bread machine as it made it a little too crusty. I'm sure it would be good with the cranberries but didn't want that for french toast. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Mantua, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

How to Make Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls

These amazing homemade pumpkin cinnamon rolls are scary delicious.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States