Cinnamon Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Great tasting cookies. I substituted molasses with 1 tbsp of dark corn syrup and 1/2 tbsp of honey. I also added 1 tsp of anise extract and 1 tsp vanilla extract. These cookies turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This is an "okay" cookie with the potential to be better, but as written only merits three stars. Some reviewers were disappointed that this cookie turns out flat and some of the submitted photos illustrated that. That didn't appeal to me, so in an effort to eliminate that problem I used half butter/half shortening, added an extra 1/4 cup flour, made sure not to over-cream the butter and sugar and chilled the dough for about an hour. I was tempted to reduce the amount of butter too and ultimately wish I had, because the cookie still turned out flatter than I would have preferred. Noticing this was missing, I added a teaspoon of vanilla and 1/4 teaspoon salt and I can't imagine how flat tasting this cookie would have been without those additions. The cookie is light and crispy/chewy, with a mild cinnamon and molasses flavor - four stars with my changes. I'd call it an enhanced sugar cookie. Not a bad tasting cookie at all, but if you're looking for the cookie to reflect its name I'd increase the cinnamon significantly. Bottom line, I suppose I could play around with this even more to resolve some of its issues, but a good, well-written recipe should require no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Wish I'd doubled it! Unbelievably delicious. Used 1/2 golden crisco. Addictive flavour!! This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
These were delicious and I got a lot of compliments when I took them to a party. I used brown sugar instead of white sugar and molasses...since I didn't have any molasses. I also added extra cinnamon (about 2 TBSP total).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
My husband LOVES these! I added one more teaspoon of cinnamon, otherwise I made it just as it says. It's really a good change from the usual cookies most people make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sweet Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Monrovia, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Good cookie. I took these to a gathering and they went fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Amazing cookies! My alterations: Use extra 1/4 cup flour (for softer cookies); Add extra tablespoon cinnamon; Bake for 8 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This is one of our new favorite cookies! Like others I omitted the molasses - leave that for ginger snaps - But I felt compelled to substitute something in its place so I used honey. The dough was sticky but I chilled a bit and formed it into two logs and chilled until firm. I sliced it into 1/4" thick slices then layed one side in a cinnamon/sugar mixture. Baked for 9 min. They did spread out to a thin but wonderfully crisp/chewy cookie - LOVE THEM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Delicious cookies! I added vanilla as others said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
These are very tasty cookies. I used the suggestion from another review and omitted the molasses, added more cinnamon and added vanilla. They turned out great except they don't look anything like the photo. They were puffier, which didn't bother me. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth L.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States