Cinnamon Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
The best cinnamon cookies I've made so far! I've tried other ones but this one is my favorite ... light butter and cinnamon taste. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConnieHR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I liked these cookies--almost as is. I say that bc I added just a drop of cinnamon extract to them, and I think that made the cinnamon pop. Unlike others, I don't mind flat cookies--I like to be able to stack cookies because I tend to be making them for other people, which means I have to find some way of transporting them. Stackable cookies are just easier for me to wrap and put in containters or ziploc bags. Other than adding the extract, I didn't do anything differently with these. They don't look done when you pull them out, but you need to leave them on the cookie sheet for 2-3 minutes to allow them to flatten and crinkle, then transfer them to the rack to cool. Mine were done at 12 min in the oven. These turned out slightly crunchy on the outside and soft in the middle, how I like cookies! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
These turned out great but I changed them up a bit. I used 1 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla, omitted the molasses and the baking powder and added a little extra cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
The cookies are delicious, crisp yet soft and chewy. I changed the sugar to 3/4 cup white sugar, 1/2 brown sugar, and 1/4 cup of this darker coarser brown sugar instead of molasses. I added 1/2 a tablespoon more cinnamon as well, and shaped them into 1 inch squares as suggested. I think these cookies are excellent, but changing it means it isn't the same recipe, so if I could, I would give 4 1/2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I am rather unsure of these cookies. I've never had a cinnamon cookie like this before. I ate several of them, but I don't know if I'd make the recipe again. I froze part of the dough, so maybe the next batch will be better since the batter will be nice and firm. I wish that I chilled my dough before baking these the first time because they baked very thin. We'll see. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whittysx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This cookie has that perfect crunch. I made it exactly as written using high quality Vietnamese cinnamon. The flavor was just right and perfect with a cup of coffee or glass of milk. I wouldn't change a thing. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Flat, crispy cookie with slightly chewy center. I used only 1 Tbsp molasses, and almost 2 1/2 cups of flour. I also added 1 tsp vanilla and 1 extra Tbsp cinnamon. The taste is good but nothing super spectacular. I would also prefer a softer texture. ...Several days later I am changing my rating from 4 to 5 stars. The more I eat, the more I want! They were not what I wanted to begin with, but now I can't stop eating them! Truly addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Great tasting cookies. I substituted molasses with 1 tbsp of dark corn syrup and 1/2 tbsp of honey. I also added 1 tsp of anise extract and 1 tsp vanilla extract. These cookies turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This is an "okay" cookie with the potential to be better, but as written only merits three stars. Some reviewers were disappointed that this cookie turns out flat and some of the submitted photos illustrated that. That didn't appeal to me, so in an effort to eliminate that problem I used half butter/half shortening, added an extra 1/4 cup flour, made sure not to over-cream the butter and sugar and chilled the dough for about an hour. I was tempted to reduce the amount of butter too and ultimately wish I had, because the cookie still turned out flatter than I would have preferred. Noticing this was missing, I added a teaspoon of vanilla and 1/4 teaspoon salt and I can't imagine how flat tasting this cookie would have been without those additions. The cookie is light and crispy/chewy, with a mild cinnamon and molasses flavor - four stars with my changes. I'd call it an enhanced sugar cookie. Not a bad tasting cookie at all, but if you're looking for the cookie to reflect its name I'd increase the cinnamon significantly. Bottom line, I suppose I could play around with this even more to resolve some of its issues, but a good, well-written recipe should require no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Wish I'd doubled it! Unbelievably delicious. Used 1/2 golden crisco. Addictive flavour!! This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States