Cinnamon Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
The cookies are delicious, crisp yet soft and chewy. I changed the sugar to 3/4 cup white sugar, 1/2 brown sugar, and 1/4 cup of this darker coarser brown sugar instead of molasses. I added 1/2 a tablespoon more cinnamon as well, and shaped them into 1 inch squares as suggested. I think these cookies are excellent, but changing it means it isn't the same recipe, so if I could, I would give 4 1/2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I am rather unsure of these cookies. I've never had a cinnamon cookie like this before. I ate several of them, but I don't know if I'd make the recipe again. I froze part of the dough, so maybe the next batch will be better since the batter will be nice and firm. I wish that I chilled my dough before baking these the first time because they baked very thin. We'll see. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whittysx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This cookie has that perfect crunch. I made it exactly as written using high quality Vietnamese cinnamon. The flavor was just right and perfect with a cup of coffee or glass of milk. I wouldn't change a thing. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Flat, crispy cookie with slightly chewy center. I used only 1 Tbsp molasses, and almost 2 1/2 cups of flour. I also added 1 tsp vanilla and 1 extra Tbsp cinnamon. The taste is good but nothing super spectacular. I would also prefer a softer texture. ...Several days later I am changing my rating from 4 to 5 stars. The more I eat, the more I want! They were not what I wanted to begin with, but now I can't stop eating them! Truly addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Great tasting cookies. I substituted molasses with 1 tbsp of dark corn syrup and 1/2 tbsp of honey. I also added 1 tsp of anise extract and 1 tsp vanilla extract. These cookies turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This is an "okay" cookie with the potential to be better, but as written only merits three stars. Some reviewers were disappointed that this cookie turns out flat and some of the submitted photos illustrated that. That didn't appeal to me, so in an effort to eliminate that problem I used half butter/half shortening, added an extra 1/4 cup flour, made sure not to over-cream the butter and sugar and chilled the dough for about an hour. I was tempted to reduce the amount of butter too and ultimately wish I had, because the cookie still turned out flatter than I would have preferred. Noticing this was missing, I added a teaspoon of vanilla and 1/4 teaspoon salt and I can't imagine how flat tasting this cookie would have been without those additions. The cookie is light and crispy/chewy, with a mild cinnamon and molasses flavor - four stars with my changes. I'd call it an enhanced sugar cookie. Not a bad tasting cookie at all, but if you're looking for the cookie to reflect its name I'd increase the cinnamon significantly. Bottom line, I suppose I could play around with this even more to resolve some of its issues, but a good, well-written recipe should require no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Wish I'd doubled it! Unbelievably delicious. Used 1/2 golden crisco. Addictive flavour!! This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
These were delicious and I got a lot of compliments when I took them to a party. I used brown sugar instead of white sugar and molasses...since I didn't have any molasses. I also added extra cinnamon (about 2 TBSP total).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
My husband LOVES these! I added one more teaspoon of cinnamon, otherwise I made it just as it says. It's really a good change from the usual cookies most people make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sweet Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Monrovia, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Good cookie. I took these to a gathering and they went fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States