Cinnamon Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
First time I made it, it didn't rise in the center plus had to leave it in for 45 minutes to cook through- which resulted in sides getting overcooked/burnt. Taste was good. Made it again today and this time substituted the brown sugar with white (as I had run out). It rose perfectly! Also decreased the butter (2Tbsp less). Cooked it for 45 min again. Batter remains lumpy and baked bread (yes- it's a bread- too dense to be cake) has a polka dot appearance which tastes raw when fresh but by the next day is great. It's not the best but think I'll keep this recipe- I like that it uses only 1 egg and is easy to mix together. Also, used 9x5 loaf pan both times with no issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Great little breakfast bread that's delicately spiced and not to mention moist! I did cut back on the sugar a bit and used 2 cups of flour and 1/2 cup of melted butter. I also subbed nutmeg for the ginger and added some raisins. I sprayed a 9x5 glass pan with Pam for baking and baked this at 350 for 55 minutes. Like others,I do think the baking time is off. It smelled wonderful and was perfect with a cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
My husband and 4 children love this coffee cake! It is super moist and stays that way for over a week. I did make a couple of minor changes, I bake this in a 9x13 pan for about 50 minutes and then when it is partially cool I drizzle it with a simple milk/powdered sugar glaze. It is amazing, I hope you try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
There were a few problems with this recipe. The baking time was way off for starters. 20-30 minutes for a 9x5 loaf? No way. I did check it at 30 minutes, but it was still liquid in the middle. I baked it for an additional 15 and it was nice and moist, but even a bit gooey at the bottom. The outside was a little dark at this point as well. The amount of sugar in this recipe is escessive. I cut each type of sugar by 1/4 cup and it was still very sweet. I opted to skip the powdered sugar because of this. This cake did sink in the middle as noted by another reviewer (see my photo). I'm not sure why others had a problem with the pan size. Perhaps their loaf pans are the smaller 8x4. I have both sizes and made sure to use the 9x5. There was no danger of overflowing the pan. I'm sure it would easily have accomodated the 1/2 cup of sugar I left out. Possibly these reviewers added a large amount of raisins. I did not. In short, if you make this recipe, cut back on the sugar, make sure your loaf pan IS 9x5, bake 40 minutes before checking, and leave out the raisins if you want it to fit in the pan. You'll end up with a tasty coffee cake that doesn't need the additional powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Tasted great except I found it didn't cook in the 9x5 pan and the time was way too short. I cooked it for 42 minutes in a 9X9 pan and thought that worked great. And only used about half the powdered suger suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
After reading all the reviews, I really stressed about making this and it turns out I had a reason to. I have not tasted this yet, but my kitchen smells delicious. I used a 9 x9 baking dish and I had no problem with spillovers, but it took FOREVER to bake. 20-30 minutes..ha, more like 45+ and the center sunk in and I swear that the tooth pick is still not clean!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Super easy and tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Recently tried this I listened to other reviews about the bigger dish and it still made a mess of my oven. The flavor was good however the dish has to be experimented with. The middle took for ever to cook and the edges got real hard and crunchy after they ran over the edge and into the bottom of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Conway, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This cake was very tasty and moist. I found it easy to make. I added a teaspoon of the spice mace and then topped it off with powdered sugar icing: cup of white powdered sugar, 1/3 cup of water, juice of 1/2 a lemon, fresh lemon zest, and a teaspoon of orange extract. I had no problem using an 8x8 baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
The only problem I have with this recipe is that it does produce a large amount of batter-- but I found that it's perfect baked in a 13x9 baking pan for about 35-40 minutes. That said, I loved this cake! It is very moist and the crunchy top is delicious. I left out the ginger (not a ginger fan) and thought it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RomeLover85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States