Cinnamon Coffee Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2001
The recipe said to pour the batter; this batter did not pour it was very thick; had to be spooned in the tube pan. I wondered if a liquid ingredient had been left out of the recipe. It seems it should have been very moist using sour cream, but instead it was dry. I was dissappointed and felt bad as I had made it special for my daughter in law who loves cinnamon coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
I tried this recipe on my troops, they liked the taste, but it was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
The batter of this cake was not at all pourable and was kinda difficult to get spread into the pan. Other than that I thought the outcome of the cake was very moist and delicious. I am literally sitting here and eating it right now as I write this review. The only thing that I changed on this recipe is that I used cake flour instead of all-purpose flour. I feel that all-purpose flour is more heavy than cake flour and a cake made with all-purpose flour tends to be more dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Texas, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
This was my first attempt at making a cinnamon cake. I didn't have all the ingredients so I substituted butter with light olive oil, brown & white sugar with raw sugar and sour cream with plain yoghurt. It was quick and easy to make and delicious! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I absoulutly loved it!!! I didn't however, put in all the sour cream. I thought it might be to much. My family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peaseblossom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I loved this cake! I did add a few shakes of nutmeg to the batter which gave it a wonderful little tweak. Yes, the batter is thick to pour, but I just used a rubber spatula and it was fine. I used light sour cream to cut down on the calories and it worked great. I also think that using just a little less cinnamon would be good. I felt the cinnamon flavor was a bit strong. This is now my go-to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I made the recipe exactly as directed at it was very good. I found the cinnamon mixture to be perfect in flavor and quantity. The cake was moist and tender, but I think it could use a little something more and will either mix in some fresh nutmeg, as another reviewer suggested, or a little bit of cinnamon into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAHAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Very Delicious! I made mine into muffins, and just watched the baking time. They came out very moist. I added about a 1/2c fat free half n half and used Allspice in the cinnimmon/sugar mixture. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
i have made coffee cakes like this one and i choose it cause it is very good. batter is thick yes... in the middle i added some chopped walnuts. but did cut the sugar and cinnamon in the middle and top. It is baking right now so i know for a fact this will be good... ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States