Cinnamon Coffee Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
This was excellent. My 13 year old made it and it was delicious. We did use butter instead of shortening but did not change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia Jackson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ahong21
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Disclosure: I'm breaking the cardinal rule and rating based on the variations I made to this recipe. Can't believe how deliciously moist it turned out! I had to use up a little bit of sour cream and some vanilla yogurt - even using both I only had about half the amount called for by the recipe, so I halved everything. Besides using half sour cream, half vanilla yogurt for the sour cream, I added about a teaspoon of cinnamon to the wet batter. I also added a half teaspoon of nutmeg and some pecans to the topping. As others have noted, the batter is not pourable, but I easily spooned it in with a spatula. At 350, a half recipe took me 35 mins to bake. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This is such a nice moist easy cake! I only made one change though, I thought I had sour cream in the house only to find there wasn't any. Just as I was wondering what to do I noticed my container of coconut yogurt and thought why not lol The cake is so delicious with just that subtle hint of coconut flavor. I may do that again on purpose next time its soo good! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
This is a tried and true favorite recipe that has been around for awhile but have never never used shortening. Someone complained about it being dry and that might be the cause. Granted shortening makes for a lighter textured cake but does not have the taste of butter. Or you can use half butter and half shortening but not all shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Anyway, I made this following the recipe to the letter. It was somewhat crunchy-good on top, but the center cinnamon sugar layer disappeared and the bottom had a thick crust on it. Was just a bit dense and not flavorful enough. My kids didn't really like it, and that sort of says it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I seem to need cake baking lessons again.. mine turned out flat.. wasn't due to the ingredients because I followed recipe.. what did I do wrong or if I would have added 2 more eggs for 4 would that have fixed it??? everyone else that replied really liked the recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This reminded me of the coffee cake my Mom used to make several years ago. I doubled the cinammon mixture and added chopped pecans to it. I put a layer of cinammon mixture in the bottom of my bundt pan and then proceeded with the layering as noted. The recipe states to "pour" the batter into the pan, but my batter was not pourable. It had to be spooned into the pan. This had me wondering how it was going to turn out, but it was great! Mine was done at 45 min. This cake is best served warm, IMHO. Thanks for the great recipe, WHITCOMBE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Made some changes suggested by reviewers: added a teaspoon of nutmeg to the batter, used cake flour instead of all-purpose, and substituted butter for the shortening and 2%Greek yogurt for the sour cream.. Oh .... and I added two chopped Mackintosh apples to the cinnamon mix. Pretty good; would probably add some walnuts to the apple/cinnamon mix next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Thanks, Anne, this is a great recipe. I needed something impressive to take to a BBQ on short notice and this filled the bill perfectly. I had to substitute FF Greek yogurt for the sour cream, but you would never know the difference. I also don't have a 10" tube pan so I used a 9" bundt. It just fit, whew! Instead of greasing and flouring the pan, I sprayed it with butter flavor no stick and dusted it with about 1/3 of the brown sugar cinnamon mix. I used most of the rest inside the cake and just dusted a small amount over the top. It baked up moist and delicious, but not too sweet, in 50 minutes. I'm happy to report there wasn't a crumb left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This coffee cake is amazing! Super moist, easy to throw together... I made one small change and added a bit of cinnamon in the batter. This was a huge hit in my house, a "keeper" I will make often! Thanks for the recipe... I also did a quick glaze to cover the cake... Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillasmiles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durand, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States