Cinnamon Coffee Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Wonderful! But if using a bundt pan, START with a layer of the streusel topping, next a l layer of batter, next remainder of streusel, and finally, remainder of batter. If you follow the recipe as written when using bundt pan, you will not have a streusel layer on top after you invert your cake. I used a combo of French vanilla and white chocolate pudding, and added a drizzle glaze on top. Couldn't be easier or quicker to make. Caution...this cake is addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
After reading some of the other reviews, I opted to make a couple of the changes they suggested. Since some found the recipe too sweet, and we don't like things that are overly sweet, I substituted a thoroughly softened block of cream cheese for the butterscotch pudding. I also added about 2 Tablespoons of instant coffee, as suggested by some. The only box of vanilla pudding I had was a larger one, but I just used the whole thing anyway. I did not have a yellow cake mix, but I did have a white cake mix, and used that. I substituted a melted stick of butter for half of the oil, and added some vanilla. I used 2 Tablespoons of cinnamon in the brown sugar, rather than one. What can I say... we like cinnamon! The resulting cake got rave reviews from my whole family! We will be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeopardMoth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This was really easy to make. I omitted the nuts and used french vanilla and cheesecake pudding. My husband thought it was great and wants me to make it often. Everyone liked it at church, and there were requests for the recipe. I would have given it 5 stars, but it was too sweet for my liking, though the taste of cinnamon was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This was absolutely wonderful! The best coffee cake recipe I've used. I took one of the other users suggestions and I added a couple teaspoons of instant coffee to the water before I put it in the dry ingredients. I also used 2 boxes of vanilla pudding instead of 1 butterscotch and 1 vanilla but other than that I followed it to the letter and it is very easy to make and comes out wonderful. I will definatly use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Served this to a group of 18 workers and it got HUGE rave reviews all around! My husband couldn't believe that it wasn't made from scratch. It will definitely be made again soon! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Great coffee cake fix! Tastes like coffee cake but not quite the same consistency. It was my first time making the cake so I followed the recipe as is except that I didn't have enough walnuts so I used a 50/50 mix of walnuts and almonds. The batter is thick and heavy and is very hard to spread. A bunt pan might be easier to layer the cake. It was not overly sweet and it cooked through with no trouble - though when I tried cutting it seemed like it was not done, but it was. I would imagine that 2 vanilla pudding mixes would make it sweeter. It does taste better the second day (though it is pretty darn good warm from the over) and I can't wait to see what day three brings! Everyone who tries it wants more and the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Really amazing and super easy! Like others I used cheesecake pudding instead of butterscotch since I'm not a butterscotch fan. Also, by accident I used chopped pecans instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I made this recipe. It was the best. It is a hit everywhere I take it. I add chocolate chips to the batter and substituted chocolate chip for walnuts in the topping... It is the best. You must try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I have made coffee cake from scratch several times that is really yummy. But this is SO much easier which makes it that much tastier! I cooked at the first temp for 20 minutes, second temp for 25 minutes. Maybe my oven cooks faster. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This is a great coffee cake recipe. I followed some of the suggestions posted by other reviewers. I used 2 packages of vanilla pudding and only 3/4 cup of brown sugar. I omitted the nuts (allergies) and they were not missed at all. I accidentally used a cake mix that had pudding in it, but it turned out perfectly. It was incredibly moist. I made it for a work breakfast and it was the first thing completely gone. I had strangers seeking me out to compliment this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 624) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States