Cinnamon Coffee Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
VERY GOOD COFFEE CAKE!! I made the following changes: pecans instead of walnuts, a combination of white & brown sugar for the 2 cups of sugar in the cake, brown sugar for the topping, a teaspoon of cinnamon in to the cake batter and a half of cup of oats to the topping. I will definitely make again- this cake smells amazing in the oven and tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Really nice - got a lot of compliments when I took it to a breakfast. Easily done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momothree

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
This is a good recipe and I will make again. But I will definitely make more of the topping. It was not enough for what I like to make it extra crusty on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I'll definitely try this recipe again, but will make some changes. As is, the recipe is a little bland. The cinnamon sugar layers aren't distinctive, and the crust is the only redeeming part of the coffee cake (I added melted butter to the top layer of cinnamon sugar). This step could probably be added to all cinnamon sugar layers. I also did the 1/2 white sugar, 1/2 brown sugar method, but am not sure if this made much of a difference. Overall, not bad, but not wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Good recipe. I used 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce and substituted nonfat plain yogurt(1 container) for the sour cream. I also used brown sugar for the filling rather than white sugar. Baked it in a bundt pan and sprinkled the final cake with powdered sugar. The recipe turned out great and very moist. A very simple coffee cake. Everyone at work enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Just what I was looking for. I halved the recipe and it fit perfectly in a Pampered Chef Square Baker. I also used brown sugar instead of white w/the topping, some melted butter (maybe 1/4 stick) and doubled the sugar amount. Mixed that way, it makes the inside and top a little more caramelized. The sour cream kept this cake moist which was great because the previous family buttermilk recipe I had seemed dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This recipe was amazing. It was so dense and it rose about 4-5 inches above my pan when it baked! Only thing I would suggest is if you are using a tube pan to use a plastic bag and "pipe" the batter in so that you can get more layers of the cinnamon mixture. Also I didn't even use half of the topping mixture. I guess I just didnt use enough?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This is a real good recipe, I made it for my family and had to make another one the next day, the only thing I changed was using brown sugar for white sugar in the topping, other than that, perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Unfortunately, this cake did not turn out, it was a disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
We thought this was really yummy! I didn't have a baking dish that was big enough, so I made cupcakes and then a square 9 inch cake and they were great. I did the applesauce/butter thing and used oatmeal instead of nuts, I also added a couple tablespoons of butter to the topping. Will be making it again soon I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Quilcene, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States