Cinnamon Coffee Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This was a huge hit at my church for fellowship! I made it in a 15x10 pan because I needed 32 pieces, baked in 45 minutes. I used 1/2 c butter and 1/2 c applesauce as recommended. Also used nonfat vanilla yogurt & sour cream combination, 1 tbsp vanilla and brown sugar with no nuts in topping. Spread 1/2 batter in pan sprinkle with 1/2 topping, spread remaining 1/2 and sprinkle again. Looked and tasted fantastic! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I made this as a half-batch and baked in a loaf pan for about 35 min. I used the butter/applesauce option and also traded the sour cream for vanilla yogurt, and used the 1/2 white, 1/2 brown sugar combo. I really liked the way this turned out--really good flavor and a moist, spongy texture. I'm not a fan of crumbly, dry coffee cake, so I will keep making it this way. Next time I think I'll add a drizzled icing. Thanks for all of the suggestions--you all are helping me become a better baker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Photo by pennycandy
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
this is the one iv'e been searching for. i used 1 cup white and 1 cup brown sugar and brown sugar for the topping, sustituted oats for 1/2 of the nuts and pecans instead of walnuts. the only thing i will do differently next time is to mix a little melted butter into topping to make it more of a struesel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pennycandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
Great recipe. My 12 year old son baked this for our county fair last week and won first place. Thank you for a GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Harlan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2001
This cake is a hit with my family. I substitute brown sugar for the white in the nut mixture, and like the flavor better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Lady Lake, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2000
A very basic coffee cake recipe--handy because I usually have all the ingredients on hand. Nice for a potluck, or brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
Wow, what a cake!! It baked up so tall and was very impressive! I had a huge tub of lowfat sour cream, and needed to use it up - this was the perfect recipe. The only change I made was to use pecans instead of walnuts (just my personal preference). I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Since I was young my mother prepared coffee cake for our traditional Christmas breakfast. She now has alzhimer's and does not know the recipe. I found this recipe and decided to use it to pass on the Christmas Coffee cake tradition. It was met with rave reviews, and I was told that it was better than my mom's (shhh don't tell). It was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
this was a real easy cake to make I halfed the recipie and it took 35-40 minutes ..everyone loved it.It is by far my fave..........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
My family loves coffee cake, so I've been trying different coffee cakes. This one was pretty good. It was a little dry but we still enjoyed it!I didn't add all the cinnamon sugar mixture, I thought it would be overwhelming. But I was wrong, it needs it. So, next time I will use it all. I also used light sour cream to reduce calories. This is a great recipe, thank you Jackie for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States