Cinnamon Coffee Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2000
A very basic coffee cake recipe--handy because I usually have all the ingredients on hand. Nice for a potluck, or brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2001
This cake is a hit with my family. I substitute brown sugar for the white in the nut mixture, and like the flavor better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Lady Lake, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
Great recipe. My 12 year old son baked this for our county fair last week and won first place. Thank you for a GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Harlan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
My family loves coffee cake, so I've been trying different coffee cakes. This one was pretty good. It was a little dry but we still enjoyed it!I didn't add all the cinnamon sugar mixture, I thought it would be overwhelming. But I was wrong, it needs it. So, next time I will use it all. I also used light sour cream to reduce calories. This is a great recipe, thank you Jackie for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
I have been paying $20.00 a week to buy a coffee cake at the local farmers market. I have been looking for a recipe to make the cake myself for a couple of years and I thought this might be it. After trying a dozen recipes this is the closest I have come and the flavor is absolutely fabulous but it is drier than the one at the Farmers market. I'm definitely going to make it again and try to tweak it a bit to make it more moist but I'm so close now I can see the finish line.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
Wow, what a cake!! It baked up so tall and was very impressive! I had a huge tub of lowfat sour cream, and needed to use it up - this was the perfect recipe. The only change I made was to use pecans instead of walnuts (just my personal preference). I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
It came out a little dense and I don't think I cooked it long enough. I cooked it for 70mins. The only thing I did different was use both brown and white sugar and added a 1/4 cup of vegi oil. That could of been my novice mistake and perhaps looked as though it wasn't cooked all the way. Other than that, it wasn't too bad, even with the mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
This was a very good coffee cake recipe. I added a icing sugar and milk glaze and used half white sugar and half brown sugar. It also presented very nicely so i will definatly make this again for company! The boyfriend really enjoyed this one. :) UPDATE: I made this recipe again for a dinner with my boyfriends family and they said the cake was so pretty and very yummy. Got very good reviews again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This was a huge hit at my church for fellowship! I made it in a 15x10 pan because I needed 32 pieces, baked in 45 minutes. I used 1/2 c butter and 1/2 c applesauce as recommended. Also used nonfat vanilla yogurt & sour cream combination, 1 tbsp vanilla and brown sugar with no nuts in topping. Spread 1/2 batter in pan sprinkle with 1/2 topping, spread remaining 1/2 and sprinkle again. Looked and tasted fantastic! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Way too dry. But it was what I was looking for and I couldn't find anything else on allrecipes.com along these lines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States