Cinnamon Coffee Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This was pretty good. However, I highly recommend cutting this in half and baking in a 9x13 pan. I made the entire thing and it took so long to bake that the outside pieces were far dryer than the inside pieces. Will make again though, but just half instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I thought this coffee cake was very good. Like some of the other reviews I used 3/4 cup brown sugar instead of white for the filling. The only thing I didn't like was the sugar, cinnamon, and nuts when taking the cake out of the pan the topping was falling off the cake & everytime you cut a piece half of it comes off. I would use some butter in the filling next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
this was a real easy cake to make I halfed the recipie and it took 35-40 minutes ..everyone loved it.It is by far my fave..........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Made 1/2 of this recipe because there are only 2 of us. I tried first in a loaf pan & the 2nd time in a smaller rectangular pan. I also used 1/2 white & 1/2 brown sugar in the mix. I used part walnuts, part oatmeal for the topping. Both times I made this it seemed to take forever to bake, knife kept coming up with batter. Once it finally cooked, it came out dry. Taste was good but too dry for us. Not sure if I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Depoe Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I made this as a half-batch and baked in a loaf pan for about 35 min. I used the butter/applesauce option and also traded the sour cream for vanilla yogurt, and used the 1/2 white, 1/2 brown sugar combo. I really liked the way this turned out--really good flavor and a moist, spongy texture. I'm not a fan of crumbly, dry coffee cake, so I will keep making it this way. Next time I think I'll add a drizzled icing. Thanks for all of the suggestions--you all are helping me become a better baker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Photo by pennycandy
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
this is the one iv'e been searching for. i used 1 cup white and 1 cup brown sugar and brown sugar for the topping, sustituted oats for 1/2 of the nuts and pecans instead of walnuts. the only thing i will do differently next time is to mix a little melted butter into topping to make it more of a struesel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pennycandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Way too dry. But it was what I was looking for and I couldn't find anything else on allrecipes.com along these lines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This was a huge hit at my church for fellowship! I made it in a 15x10 pan because I needed 32 pieces, baked in 45 minutes. I used 1/2 c butter and 1/2 c applesauce as recommended. Also used nonfat vanilla yogurt & sour cream combination, 1 tbsp vanilla and brown sugar with no nuts in topping. Spread 1/2 batter in pan sprinkle with 1/2 topping, spread remaining 1/2 and sprinkle again. Looked and tasted fantastic! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 1, 2007
This was a very good coffee cake recipe. I added a icing sugar and milk glaze and used half white sugar and half brown sugar. It also presented very nicely so i will definatly make this again for company! The boyfriend really enjoyed this one. :) UPDATE: I made this recipe again for a dinner with my boyfriends family and they said the cake was so pretty and very yummy. Got very good reviews again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
It came out a little dense and I don't think I cooked it long enough. I cooked it for 70mins. The only thing I did different was use both brown and white sugar and added a 1/4 cup of vegi oil. That could of been my novice mistake and perhaps looked as though it wasn't cooked all the way. Other than that, it wasn't too bad, even with the mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States