Cinnamon Coffee Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Pretty good....my daughter made these as a suprise for dessert.....not bad at all. She used dark chocolate chips and omitted the nuts. We enjoyed, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
i thought these were quite good,but next time i will definitely omit the chocolate chips.totally ruined it for me,but then again i am not a big chocolate fan.i used the coffee glaze from another reviewer.thanks for the recipe.very quick to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
A nice treat with a cup of coffee and the morning news. Try using Hershey's cinnamon chips instead of the chocolate chips and we prefer using pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Hubs and I both agreed there were just too many nuts, but outside of that these were unique and delicious. But... in order to amp up the cinnamon flavor I substituted cinnamon chips for the chocolate chips and what a great match that was! These are thicker than I thought they'd be, substantial. They are chewy and moist and hold together well. If I make them again I'll make them the same way - with the cinnamon chips, but I'd probably leave the nuts out altogether. (And I like nuts!) As for the coffee, you couldn't taste it, but these were so good it made no difference to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Wow these bars are really good. I followed the recipe to an exact T without the glaze, and they turned out moist and flavorful. I could really taste the cinnamon, but not the coffee at all. Also, I found out that the brown sugar really mattered - none of that white sugar replacement please! Next time I will triple the concentration of coffee required and see how it tastes. I recommend covering with a foil wrap to seal in the moisture if there is no glaze to counteract the cake being softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
These were pretty good. If I make again, I would add more cinnamon and some instant coffee granules to the coffee as those flavours weren't as strong as I would of liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
These are quite good. The first time I made them, I followed the recipe as written, and while I enjoyed the bars, I felt that the glaze was sickeningly sweet. The next time I made them, I used a coffee flavored glaze and I was very pleased with the end result. The glaze I used was as follows: 2 Tbsp softened butter, 1 cup confectioners sugar, 2 Tbsp strong coffee and a dash of vanilla. Beat all ingredients together. Frankly, I think the bars would be good without any glaze at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I loved the flavor combination! Cinnamon, coffee, and chocolate are perfect together in my opinion. I dissolved plenty of instant coffee in the water, but would love to try it with espresso. The amount of cinnamon was perfect. I substituted overripe mashed banana for the fat, used a bit less brown sugar, and used whole wheat flour. I definitely plan to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kawaiikittychan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Very good, yummy combination. I used a heaping tsp instant espresso in 1/3 c hot water. Followed recipe exactly. I plan to try these flavors together in a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Good but not great. The only change I made to the recipe was to use raisins instead of nuts. I did not find the coffee flavor to be noticable nor the overall taste to be anything more than plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States