Cinnamon Chip Apple Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
I was really disappointed in these cookies. I subbed apple juice concentrate for the apple juice and grated the apple to get more of the apple dispersed through the cookie, but there was essentially no apple flavor. They're a soft, very cakey cookie that is expected any time you use fruit in a cookie, but I was going to put up with the cakey texture to get the apple flavor...and then there was no apple flavor!! They will be eaten, but won't be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
Oh my goodness! Hershey needs to give whoever developed this recipe a big fat raise. Made these in the cafe today and our customers loved them. (Like a really, really tasty oatmeal cookie.) Used granny smith apples and followed directions precisely except left skin on the apples. Also, used the food processor for chopping the apples and it worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
I used cinnamon-spice instant oatmeal and about 2 cups of apples, and also apple cider (didn't have any apple juice). The cookies are quite yummy. [Edit - September 2010] I have now made these cookies many times, and my only real complaint with them has been that they're so fragile that you can't pick one up without it falling apart. So today, I tried two small modifications: I substituted shortening for half the butter, and I added an extra half-cup of flour. The cookies came out much less fragile this time, with no loss of flavor. I will be making them this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
Very good cookie, very soft and chewy...makes exactly 4dz. cooked 12 minutes and also let cool at least 2 minutes before moving to wire rack to cool. NOt very appley think next time I will do 1 1/2-3/4 cups of "grated" not chopped apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
Yummy! I couldn't find cinnamon chips so I made my own by melting white chocolate chips and adding cinnamon to taste. Turned out great although hard to keep together. I will definately make these again but try to chop the apples a little smaller next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
Very tasty, but tended to fall apart. I loved them because they were so unique and friends gobbled them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
Very yummy. My DH loved them and he does not like oatmeal! I thought they were a bit sweet, overall very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Clemens, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
I have made these cookies many times and each time they get rave reviews and are gone before everyone can get one! They are very moist, so make sure the pan is only LIGHTLY greased and chill the dough for a few minutes before baking to prevent them from spreading too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Harrison, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
Big hit with both my husband and toddler! Both had two before I could stop them! We try a new cookie recipe almost every week, and this one is one of my new favorites. I omitted the raisins for personal preference, and I took the advice of another reviewer to shred the apple with a grater instead of chopping. It worked really well- instead of the occasional bite of apple, you could taste it in every bite. Can't wait to have one with a big mug of hot coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
These are awesome! They are very chewy and moist. Even more so the next day (if they last that long). Next time I think I will try chopping my apple in smaller pieces so they will be more evenly distributed throughout the cookie. Definitely will be making these again....very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States