Cinnamon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
I thought the recipe was great, but needed to kill some of the salt. All you would need is about 1 tasp., instead of the 3 requried. I tried it twice, once with all that salt, then once with my revised version. Note, to anyone who is trying this, to keep it moist bake in oven with a teaspoon of butter and foil covering the pan. This will keep it from drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
Just recently, I created something similar - for a client - who loved the results. Then I prepared it for my family members, who were also pleased with the results. The only differences in my recipe was that I made a marinade out of extra virgin olive oil, half of the cinnamon, a freshly minced garlic clove, a pinch of Kosher salt, a few twists of freshly ground black pepper, and freshly minced basil leaves. I took the chicken breast halves and coated them liberally with the "marinade" and placed them in the baking dish. Then I took a 14.5 oz. can of seasoned diced tomatoes and spread it over the breasts and baked all for about 25 to 30 minutes, until the juices ran clear. In certain cultures, the use of sweet spices is not unusual. The use of cinnamon, for instance, is reminiscent of Middle Eastern cooking. It really is a tasty dish, but you must be careful when it comes to using certain spices, as they can be quite powerful. On the whole, I would give this a good rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
This recipe was pretty good, but not my favorite. I read the ratings before preparing, and saw that most everybody agreed that the chicken came out dry, so I dipped all the chicken in melted butter first, then covered the dish in foil for the first 30 minutes of bake time. The chicken came out nice and moist. As for the spices. I cut nearly all of them in half except for the cinnamon. The taste was perfectly suited for my husband and myself. Just put on what you think you'd like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
Having read the reviews, I decided to mix the spices (minus most of the salt) into some mayo (about 1 cup, I think). I spread the mayo over the chicken and baked it in a covered dish, and it was dilicious! Very spicy, but not overwhelmingly so. The cinnamon added a unique flavor that I definitely enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
I've been making this dish for over 2 years now and just love it. I don't even measure anymore, I just sprinkle and go. Good on a Grorge Foreman grill too, seasoned side down, if you use boneless skinnless breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Middleburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
We thought this was really good. I did halve the salt and the Italian seasoning...wanted to make sure the cinnamon flavor would come through, and I think this combination was just right. I used thighs instead of breasts, so dryness was not an issue. Husband, teenagers, toddler and busy Mom all loved this. No leftovers! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
Well, my husband and I were able to eat it, but I don't think I will be making it again as written. I didn't even end up using all the spices - I had mixed them together and then sprinkled them on, and ended up having to throw some of the spices out because there was so much left over. Maybe it would be better if the chicken had been dipped in melted butter first...or melted butter mixed with the spices...or a mayo mixture combined with the spices. Dry chicken with just dry spices on top just isn't our thing, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2003
Fast recipe that uses spices you have on hand. However.......way too much spice. Use about half of what it calls for and it will be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
This was insanely salty! I should've read the reviews before cooking this, then I would've known 3 tsp. was too much. As someone else already said, 1 tsp. probably would've sufficed. When we got past the saltiness, my husband and I really liked it the flavoring. I used Kirkland's frozen boneless skinless chicken breasts from Costco. Baked at 350 degrees for 30 minutes (as per the recipe) was perfect; the chicken was juicy and tender and just right. I just put them in a baking dish - no foil, no butter. The chicken couldn't have been better than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
This was merely okay. If I had made it according to the recipe given, it defintely would have been way overseasoned. I also would not recommend salting the chicken prior to cooking, as that causes all of the juices to cook out. This was very dry and not very tasty. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States