Cinnamon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
Having read the reviews, I decided to mix the spices (minus most of the salt) into some mayo (about 1 cup, I think). I spread the mayo over the chicken and baked it in a covered dish, and it was dilicious! Very spicy, but not overwhelmingly so. The cinnamon added a unique flavor that I definitely enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
Just recently, I created something similar - for a client - who loved the results. Then I prepared it for my family members, who were also pleased with the results. The only differences in my recipe was that I made a marinade out of extra virgin olive oil, half of the cinnamon, a freshly minced garlic clove, a pinch of Kosher salt, a few twists of freshly ground black pepper, and freshly minced basil leaves. I took the chicken breast halves and coated them liberally with the "marinade" and placed them in the baking dish. Then I took a 14.5 oz. can of seasoned diced tomatoes and spread it over the breasts and baked all for about 25 to 30 minutes, until the juices ran clear. In certain cultures, the use of sweet spices is not unusual. The use of cinnamon, for instance, is reminiscent of Middle Eastern cooking. It really is a tasty dish, but you must be careful when it comes to using certain spices, as they can be quite powerful. On the whole, I would give this a good rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
Pretty terrible combination of flavors. Made some for my mother and she said to strike it from the recipe box. It didn't even make it to the recipe box, so that wasn't a problem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
This chicken is very different. It was just to strange for my families pallets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
Good, but even with cutting way back on the seasonings, it was pretty overwhelming. I cut back by half on everything except left the cinnamon the same, and the cut the salt back to just a sprinkle on each piece. Three tsp. can't possibly be right. The Italian seasoning is really strong and it was hard to taste the cinnamon. My picky 11 yr. old really liked it, however, so I will probably make it again. I took others' recommendations and dipped it in melted butter first and covered it with foil while baking. Turned out very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
The spices were a bit much for me, but once they were scraped off the top the chicken wasn't too bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
This was not that good. The spices were overwhelming. My family and I ended up scraping off the spices. So when making this, definately cut back. I did however serve this with sweet potatoes. (lightly mixed with butter, brown sugar and salt. Eating the Chicken with the sweet potatoes did bring out the cinnamon flavor. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
Fast recipe that uses spices you have on hand. However.......way too much spice. Use about half of what it calls for and it will be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
EXCELLENT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
I am glad i read the reviews. It is definetly better to dip the chicken in butter and put some into the pan, then bake with foil over it. I think it had way to much italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States