Cinnamon Candy Apple Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
More like dessert than salad - could make for an interesting pretzel "salad".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I've made this recipe for holiday meals for years. Only difference is I omit the celery and walnuts, and shred the apples rather than chop them. (I like the texture better that way.) If I can't find red hot candies, I've used Fire Jolley Ranchers too. To melt, just put them in a pot with the hot water on low heat and wait until they've dissolved. (You can add more water if needed.) It makes the house smell wonderful! I've tried different flavors of red gelatin. Cherry is by far the best. It adds just enough tartness to make it taste more like apple. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I made this to go with grilled teriyaki pork tenderloins one night when having company. It was good, but did not compliment the pork as well as I thought it might. It was a little too "spicy" along with the teriyaki flavor, and I think just the apple flavor such as in Sauteed Apples from this site might have been better. Was pretty good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Great for kids not adults
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
If you're having trouble getting the RedHots to melt, just put them in the pot when you're boiling your water....that's what my recipe directions call for and it works perfectly. Add the boiling water/candy liquid to the gelatin in a bowl and stir until it's disolved and you're ready to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
My mom handed this recipe down to me, but we use lemon jello instead. The cinnamon candies never melt all the way and never use a metal spoon for serving. It liquifies the jello for some reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alohajeepers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I couldn't resist giving this a try. Three of us loved it and 2 just thought it was okay. I'll probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
My family loved this super-simple recipe! I didn't have any celery in the house, so I used cherry flavored Craisin's instead, and I think I'll stick with that instead of the celery in the future, because it really complimented the flavors of the apple and cherry jello nicely. The red hots never totally dissolved, so I just fished out the bits that didn't melt. I used sugar-free Jello and fat-free cool whip to garnish, making this a really yummy low-calorie snack. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYTHMANIAC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Maine, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I loved this one so did everyone else.Make sure that the jello is a soft set before adding fruit and nuts though.That way it is all the way through the salad not just bottom layer.I also had trouble with the red hots melting.I just took out what didn't and added a little cinnamin candy oil to it.WOW! It was just like a candy apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This is wonderful, I've made this jello for years. I leave out the nuts and celery though, and sometimes I use the jiggler recipe on the box for firmer jello.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKYRAY1
Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States