Cinnamon Bun Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
these were very tasty, plus felt a little healthier/heartier because they contain oatmeal. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I have made these scones many times over the last several years. The only time they didn't turn out well was when I tried to make them as mini scones, freezing them to bake later. However, that is my fault, not the recipes. One note though- several reviewers have referred to these scones as healthy. Look at the nutrition information: Scones are basically sweetened biscuits. If you make 12 scones as the recipe indicates, each contains 292 calories and 12.8 grams of fat. These are wonderful for an occasional treat; they are not health food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
A wonderful, quick recipe. Usually have all ingredients in house, so it is very easy to make just before breakfast. Combine dry ingredients the night before and these can be in the oven in just 5 minutes w/o messing up the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
these are a hit every time I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
Very tasty, even without the nuts! I added about a cup or 1-1/2 cups of peeled and chopped Golden Delicious Apple instead of the nuts, and oh my it was superb. I forgot to make the icing, but it was still excellent. I highly recommend trying it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
These were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Didn't use the glaze, and they turned out really good. We love scones, and if you have never made them...they are a really quick and easy weekend morning treat for the family. My kids loved these and I never feel bad about also giving them to them for a treat because they aren't filled with lots of sugar and they are filling and good with a glass of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Great texture and nice flavor. I cut into wedges like another reviewer, and 10 made nice serving sizes; 8 were really huge. Next time, though, I'm going to try adding some light brown sugar to the pecan mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
I, personally, am not really a fan of pecans or scones, but DH LOVED these! I used triple sec instead of orange juice/milk for the glaze and came out great. (also forgot to toss the pecans in cinnamon) - can't wait to do it the right way next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
This recipe is a great, healthier alternative to my favorite scone recipe that calls for sour cream, eggs, and butter! I use egg substitute or egg whites and margarine to reduce cholesterol in this recipe and use raw sugar instead of refined. I reduce the salt to 1/8 t. but add the grated zest of one orange or a few drops of orange oil to compensate. With a drizzle sugar glaze, my husband doesn't even notice the reduced sugar content in this scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States