Cinnamon Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
I made this recipe exactly, while using the tip on how to make regular milk into butter milk with vinegar. When baking, it took about 10 minutes longer to fully cook through. I didn't think it was too sweet and the topping amount was just right. What makes this recipe a winner is that its a breakfast bread with ingredients readily available in the pantry vs. banana or zucchini bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Roosz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
I loved this recipe. It is really simple, and the end result is delicious. I usually do make some changes, however. It's a small change, but when I am measuring out the cinnamon for both the topping and the bread, I do not level the spoon. My family and I love cinnamon, so the extra cinnamon, in our opinions, makes it much better. I also triple the topping, because I find that it's the best part of the recipe and adds a great flavor. However, since this is a quick bread, as other people have said, you should not mix it for 3 minutes. Combine the dry ingredients in one bowl, and the wet in something like a measuring cup. Blend the wet ingredients until the eggs are mostly beaten. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and mix, using a whisk, just until combined. Make sure you mix the batter from the bottom up. The batter will be thick, I promise. It always is for me. As for the topping, I usually use butter instead of margarine, but either works fine. I also use half brown sugar and half granulated sugar, then I mix the sugars with the cinnamon using my hands to break up any lumps of brown sugar. Then I add the butter and squash it in using a fork. Like I said, I triple the topping recipe. I add all the topping on top and swirl it with a knife. I think giving out loaves of these baked in mini loaf pans would be a lovely homemade gift, if you're looking to give someone something special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
Followed a lot of the comments. Used brown sugar instead of regular, separately mixed dry and wet ingredients, and slowly mixed together little by little. Tripled the topping and mixed it into the batter as I poured it into the pan. Baked for about an hour and ten. Turned out a perfect consistency and very moist. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReadMyLips26
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
I made this exactly as stated and it was a wonderful alternative to the yeast cinnamon breads I usually make, and half the time too. I do not normally have buttermilk so I use a substitute; 3TBS vinegar,add enough milk to make one cup and let stand ten minutes. Voila buttermilk, has always worked for me without fail. Such a moist bread with the perfect amount of cinnamon flavor. I made double the topping, did layers of batter, topping, batter, topping and slightly swirled it to perfection! So pretty and yummy! I mixed the dry and wet ingredients separately and was unsure of how to beat it ( hand or electric?), so into the kitchen aid it went on medium for 3 min. No problems at all. I love this recipe and will continue to make it in the future. I made Brandy Apple Butter also from here to accompany it, pure deliciousness, Bon appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReadMyLips26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I quadrupled the recipe, made four perfect loaves I used for New Year's gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Just made this for the first time. Did it in a Bundt pan to maximize the crust (good call) and as others suggest I mixed the wet/dry ingredients separately before mixing together. I may add more cinnamon next time (or just do all fresh ground), but overall was really satisfied with the results. I didn't find it bland at all, but rather as having a light, pleasant flavor. Tomorrow I'll toast a slice with a little butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PMW

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I read the reviews and doubled the topping using brown instead of white sugar and used butter instead of margarine. Used 1/2 applesauce and half canola oil,put half of the filling in the middle and half on top and swirled it. Awesome!! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Davitt Jr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Delish! This bread was super easy. A great quick bread when you want something warm, not too sweet or fussy but full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buns N the Oven

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This is the second time I've made this recipe, and I really like it! Nice breakfast bread that uses ingredients I always keep on hand. The only reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5 is because 50 minutes wasn't quite enough time; it needed about 10-15 minutes more. But it turned out wonderful and delicious--nice for a change of pace in the morning. Would probably be even more awesome with raisins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Fantastic! I actually made this vegan and gluten free by subbing for a flour mix, flax eggs, margarine, and coconut milk (soured with ACV, and it is great! Very dense, moist, and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ella Mock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 645) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Cinnamon Roll Waffles

A cinnamon-flavored breakfast treat.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States