Cinnamon Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I rarely rate anything under a 4 but felt that this recipe can be excellent (complaints about if being runny) but should sit at least 5 hrs. (or overnight) before baking. You will see a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
The batter seemed too moist, but the muffins came out with an okay consistency. Overall the muffins were okay, but not exceptional. Kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Strathclair, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Great use of a wealth of bran cereal I was gifted. I bought a bunch of bags of Hershey's cinnamon chips right around Christmas and stuck what I didn't use in the deep freeze so I was able to make these without substitutions. I ended up making a half recipe of this--12 muffins. To make it a little healthier, I used whole wheat white flour and cut the buttermilk by half and substituted homemade organic applesauce. I actually got exactly 12 muffins out of a half recipe of this--that almost never happens! 12 big muffins, as a matter of fact. 350 degrees for 20 minutes and they were perfect. Good with the cinnamon chips but I think these would be just as good with dried fruit (like raisins) or even chopped apples. It's really a good base for you to play with and make healthier (if you so desire) or throw in whatever you may have on hand. NOTE: The recipe does not say to soak cereal in milk. I've made bran muffins before out of bran cereal and I've always had better results if I soak the cereal in the milk/liquid for about 10 minutes before adding in the other ingredients. If you soak it, you won't have such an issue with wet batter, too. I think using whole wheat white flour helped with that a bit, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
These are great, just as they are! Why anyone would want to adjust this recipe is beyoned me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
These came out really good with a few changes. I only used 2 cups of butter cream since everyone said it was runny, I used applesauce and olive oil instead of butter, and we added some frozen mixed berries for flavor. It made about 20 good sized muffins. Will make again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Jolley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ashburnham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I had to add about an extra cup of flour because the batter was really runny, and I didn't use the cinnamon chips because I didn't have any--just increased the ground cinnamon. They were awesome--we loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This recipe doesn't work! I followed it exactly as is and my batter was literally liquid and I had to pour it into the muffin tins. They also didn't raise (even with 2T baking powder!). The up side is that they still taste pretty good even though they look like flat little hockey pucks! I have NO idea what I did wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I really liked the idea of this muffin, but the recipe as is doesn't work. I revamped it as follows: 2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour 1/4 cup brown sugar 1 tsp each of baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon and vanilla 1 1/2 cups buttermilk 1/8 cup canola oil 1 egg 1/2 cup cinnamon chips In a large bowl combine all the wet ingredients, mix throughly. Add cinnamon, baking soda and baking powder. Add flour and stir until almost all flour is mixed in, add chips and stir to combine. Fill greased muffin tins, I got 12 large muffins, bake at 350, check at 20 minutes, my oven bakes hot, should take 20-25 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
FLAT. I was sooo disappointed with this recipe, I had high hopes with the cinnamon chips sounding so good, but they didn't rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKERSON21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bergen, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I did not care for this recipe. But my husband and brother in law liked them and that's who I made them for so I guess they passed. I omitted the cinnamon chips for a healthier muffin....I'm assuming that's what made them taste good. Although I would never eat these, the weird boys that live with me will so I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettyshoes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States