Cinnamon Belgian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I was feeling lazy and didn't separate the egg whites from the yolks - also, I didn't have buttermilk, and once again, feeling lazy, didn't feel like making the substitute, so I used 2% milk instead. The waffles STILL came out delicious - this has been the best tasting recipe that I've tried since getting the waffle iron - and we've tried several different recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
284 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DVDIVA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
As someone who grew up on Belgian Waffles (mostly Bisquick) I have to say this is most definately a 5-star recipe. ***** I whipped the egg whites first (used my KitchenAid mixer the whole time), that way I could use the same bowl to mix everything in after I took the whites out. I used SmartBalance spread instead of butter and upped the cinnamon to 1 tsp or so. I also used instant buttermilk powder & water. **** I have a giant waffle maker that makes 4 large Belgian waffle squares at one time. I was leary about the original yield of this recipe...only 3? Who eats only 3 waffles in a family? This recipe yeilded 8 big fat squares, not just 3. Being pregnant, I ate 4 squares and my daughters each ate 3 between them...with 1 left for my hubby when he gets home. lol! **** Anyway, this is a superb recipe. Make sure to mix the egg whites in very well (gently). Finding large egg white clumps is not the most pleasant experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I doubled this recipe. I used "soured" milk and I upped the baking powder to three teaspoons. Also, my "pinch" of cinnamon is probably bigger than your average pinch would be. Other than that, I kept to the recipe. Out of a doubled recipe, I got 12 full sized regular waffles (and that means that I used one of those four-count basic wafflemaker and none of them were cheated out of batter). These waffles were crisp on the outside and soft and fluffy on the inside. I served these with Absolute Best Pancake Syrup, which is also on this site. This was one of the top waffle recipes I've tried from this site, I think the buttermilk and the touch of cinnamon make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
These waffles were fantastic and very easy to throw together. I would recommend, as some other reviewers have, of increasing the cinnamon to up to 1 teaspoon. I didn't have buttermilk, so I just used regular skim milk and they still turned out just fine. Delicious with cinnamon-flavoured syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
You'll never buy frozen waffles again! They're actually better after they've been frozen. Defrost them in the microwave then pop 'em in the toster. Just sprinkle a little powered sugar on top instead of syrup and you won't overpower the waffle. But if you must use syrup, then splurge on "real maple syrup" instead of bottle of fake "pancake syrup".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I substituted 1% milk with 1 TBS. of lemon juice for the buttermilk, increased the cinnamon to 1 tsp. and added a sprinkle of nutmeg. They're light and tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
These were very good. I doubled the recipe and there were only two left over by the time my boys got finished with them. I did not have time to worry about separating the eggs so just put them in whole; however I do think they would have been fluffier had I beat the egg whites as instructed. I also increased the cinnamon (we really like cinnamon) and added a dash of fresh grated nutmeg. We will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Light, crisp, delicate. These are very very good. I've tried many waffle recipes and this is the only one I haven't been disappointed with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
incredible waffles. i don't even like waffles and these topped with whipped cream, strawberries and bananas had my house jumping for joy. thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
Don't judge by the somewhat unappetizing picture - these are WONDERFUL!!! We loved them and will definitely be making them many times. My only addition - used about 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon instead of a pinch, and could have used even more. Terrific!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States