Cinnamon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Made this last night. I feel it was missing something. The first time I make a recipe I follow the directions. The final mixture was so dry and crumbly, that there is no way that i could have "poured the batter into the pan". I added an extra egg yolk, and extra butter, it made it more like dough, that i had to flatten with a rolling pin into the 10x13 pan. And it still baked dry, I only baked it for 25 min. The flavour was great, loved the amount of cinnamon added. Do you think adding milk would help? If so how much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Markham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
It is really good. I put the whole egg in and omitted walnuts on the top. It is so easy to make and extremely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kottayam, Kerala, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
These had great potential, but they were wayyy to buttery. And they brushed egg white on top was gross!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wallawallagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I didn't make this at all yet, but I probably will tomorrow. What I probably will do is to add diced apple over top with the nuts along with cinnamon and I'll sprinkle brown sugar as well. I think that would be a nice kick to the recipe. Hope this helps:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SPIDERWIFE
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
These turned out awesome! Not too sweet, slightly moist and nutty. My pan was 15x10x1 and worked perfectly. (Check out the picture I posted.) I wonder if some of the reviewers missed the fact that the oven should be 325 not 350. Mine were not dry or crispy at all. I think the use of the word "pour" batter into pan was misleading. I had to "press" it with my fingers. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cassandra
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
These bars have a lot of potential but are still missing that little extra kicker. Perhaps they would taste better with brown sugar or a half-and-half? I'll be playing around with this recipe and will let you know if I find anything that really makes these bars pop. Their flavor is good and they look very attractive. If you're looking for something super sweet and moist though, this is not the right recipe. They have that subtle sweetness to them that isn't overwhelming and are more of a "dunking treat" than a "snacking treat." Perfect for a cup of tea or coffee. I also agree that the recipe should call for a 9x13 pan, especially with how dry and hard to spread the batter is. If you want super thin though, the larger pan size could work - just watch your heat and time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Sun City, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I would have given these delicious bars the 5 star rating that it deserves except the two things that I have found incorrect with this recipe. The first time I made them I did make them in the 16 x 11 pan that T. Lee instructed, and I baked for the 30 minutes it stated. I had no problem getting it spead into the pan, but they came out burnt, to thin and way toooo crispy. So the next 3 times I have made them I used a 9 x 13 cookie sheet with sides, and set the timer for 22 minutes. My experience has been absolutley do not bake these longer than 25 minutes, and for my oven I only bake for 22 - 24 minutes. I also tried this recipe with walnuts, and I always sprinkle it with a sugar mixed with cinnamon instead of plain sugar. Also try serving with real vanilla ice cream, the crunch with a good ice cream is sooo perfect! Better yet, cut and make into ice cream sandwiches! These are quick, great tasting, and worth trying, because for such few ingrediets, it goes a long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This was a favorite of my mom's at Christmas time. When made correctly(I suggest a 13x9 pan) they have a delcate, crunchy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I have been making this recipe for years, but I found it turns out better in a 9 X 13 pan if you are looking for a moister bar. I always seem to have to add some milk to it to get it to spread evenly in a jelly roll pan, which is what my recipe calls for. It is however a great coffee break cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martese houle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: St. Thomas, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I recently made these bars and It can out like a cookie. I think the recipe was missing baking powder because it says to use all-purpose flour. Needless to say it did not rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mshousewife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States