Cinnamon-Apple Chex® Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This is ok, but not good enough to make again. I brought this recipe and traditional Chex Party mix to our Christmas gathering. The traditional mix was gone nearly instantly, and hardly any of the Cinnamon Apple mix was eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Williams

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I wasn't overly fond of this, but everyone else liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This is a great recipe! I had a hard time finding dried apples too and it turns out that my grocery store (Kroger) has them in the same isle with the fruit roll ups. I add dark chocolate covered raisins and use dried cherries (also in the fruit roll up isle).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Love, but I did in oven instead of microwave. I was juggling other types of chex mix that required the oven instead. So I followed suit. Only thing is that the yogurt-covered raisins really, really need to be added when the mix is fully, fully cooled. I added the yougurt-covered raisins to a cooled tray of mix while the tray was sitting on top of the stove (still warm cooking other chex mixes). You guessed it, they melted (o: It's ok, still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Yep that's right, another 5 ***** STARS! I followed other suggestions: made apple chips: very thinly sliced apples, (I used red delicious), sprinkled lightly with cinnamon and sugar, baked at 200 for 2 hours; and also substituted Cinnamon Chex for Wheat Chex; used Whole Natural Almonds, not salted. Also prepared over stove top, all in one large pot. So addicting, with a family of four, this was gone within 24 hours. :o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soldiersgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Flavor was good, cooking method was iffy. Mine burnt in the initial 3 minutes, so I was unable to keep microwaving it for the second round if I wanted to salvage any. That being said, flavor was fantastic - used 1.5 tsp cinnamon and yogurt raisins and yogurt cranberries. Subbed cashews for almonds because I was almost out of almonds. I'll probably do again, but maybe go back to the old fashioned oven-dry, and skip the microwave altogether. I don't really trust that thing anyways...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I made 5 batches of this chex mix for school. I started out using margarine, I ran out and started using butter. Butter cooked a lot faster than the margarine. So I only cooked butter for 30sec stirred & cooked another 30 sec. I also found that 3min was too long. I have a high powered microwave so I only cooked for 2min. I did read complaints that they cooked it too long. I also used candy corn & marshmallows instead of nuts & apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This was gone in no time! I made this with rice chex and replaced the cinnamon with a teaspoon of "Apple Pie Spice Mix" (recipe by RobertaJ), also used golden raisins instead of yogurt-covered. While the microwave version is a lot faster than slow-baking in the oven, I found the finished mix to be a little tacky once cooled and stored in a zip-top baggie. If I were to make a large batch intended for longer storage or gift-giving, I would take the time to bake in oven to ensure proper dryness. Overall, a good munching mix... especially while at the drive-in on a cool evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Yum! Such a great snack. I used about half wheat chex and half rice chex, because I had both on hand. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Very crispy and lots of flavor. I used a mix of left over Chex cereals and was still very good. I also used the candied almonds from the store for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Snack Mix

This irresistible snack stars crispy cereal, nuts, and a simple caramel coating.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States