Cinnamon-Apple Cake AKA Hanukkah Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
The first time I ever tried baking a cake I tried this. Worked a treat, came out tasty and juicy, everyone was impressed and it dissapeard quickly. The sugar on the top did look like it started to burn a little even after around 50 mins so I took it out thinking it might not be ready yet inside, but it was fine, tasted great. I guess I need to just learn how to spot when it's ready. I am now however amazed at how much sugar goes into cakes! are they all like this?? very tasty and easy to understand instructions. nice one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I do have to say this cake is very moist and very dense in a very delicious way. The cream cheese adds a bit of tang and a rich, almost creme like texture to the cake that is most noted throughout the center. My favorite part was the crusty top and sides. Nice change of pace from the traditional Jewish Apple Cakes I am familiar with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Very good flavor! The cream cheese really adds to this. Wonderful as is, but may add a few nuts to the topping next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
This cake was gone in less than 24 hrs. The recipe is perfect as is. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Oh my goodness this was the most delicious cake I've ever made! My husband and I made this one night and I couldn't be any more impressed with this recipe. My hubby is hard to please so for him to fawn over this was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This cake is delicious! I made this cake for my mother in law's birthday and everybody raved about it. I wanted something that wouldn't be too sweet and this cake was perfect! The cream cheese really makes this cake stand out. I will be giving out the recipe at Thanksgiving. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This is one of the best, easiest cakes I've ever baked!!! Very moist and very flavorful. I would highly recommend it! I did do half white and half brown sugar in the cake because I like the richness brown sugar adds. Other than that, followed the recipe as written. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
This cake is absolutely divine! I made this today and my mom and my grandma love it! It's my first time baking a cake and I wasn't really sure what I was doing but it turned out great anyways! I did anticipate that it was gonna be too sweet for my mom's liking so lessened the sugar by a quarter cup. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Wonderful flavor and texture. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a 9 x 13 inch cake pan. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Absolutely loved this. It's simple, straight forward and delicious. I will be making it as a gift cake for Christmas, hope that that is ok. OH - and absolutely spot on about how long it takes to cook. Follow that and the clean toothpick test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sedro Woolley, Washington, USA
Living In: Forks, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States