Cinnabun Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
These are yummy. A creamier taste than normal cinnamon buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barncat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
5 stars for flavor, 2 stars for appearance. I'm going to try these again because they are tasty, but they definitely didn't look like the ones in the pictures. Next time, I'll try adding more flour and cutting them into 1/2 inch slices, instead of one inch slices. **update** I've made these many time because they taste GREAT, but they spread like crazy and they don't look anything like the picture. I'm an experienced baker and can't figure it how to master these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
It took me a couple of tries to "figure out" this recipe. My only change to the recipe was adding 1 TBsp of flour to the filling to prevent it from melting out of the cookies and spreading. I rolled the dough out between two sheets of saran wrap, and after spreading the filling on each sheet I rolled them up using the saran wrap. I cut them a little thinner than half and inch because I wanted them to be more like cookies rather than actual cinnamon rolls. Baked them at 350 for 10-15 min. Once done baking, I left them on the sheet, otherwise they would've broken if I tried to transer them. Leaving them on the sheet helped the cookies set and become easier to transer off the baking sheet. Once I figured out the right way to prepare them they turned out great and were a big hit! I'll always keep a roll of these in my freezer for when unexpected visitors come over (which happened a couple of times, lol). The dough also cuts easily when removed from the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This recipe was great! They stayed puffed up and tasted so good. I made up the dough and refrigerated it overnight. I put a little flour directly onto some plastic wrap and rolled it out on there. I then just put a smear of soft butter with brown sugar and cinnamon on top instead of melting it altogether. I then used the plastic wrap to help roll it into a log and then put it back in the fridge for another couple of hours. I had absolutely no problem with the dough falling apart doing it this way. I did not put a dollop of the cinnamon sugar mixture on my cookie sheet, and it did not need it at all. I think you just need to plan ahead to make these cookies. They were wonderful!!! My family loves them. Will definitely make again! They also looked really pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Oh my goodness I can't rave about these cookies enough!! It took me a while to get the hang of the rolling part, but third time was the charm and they came out prettier than the picture!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
These are amazing cookies! The instructions are a little confusing, if you split the dough in half and cut 1 inch segments you would end up with 24 cookies, not 36. I used an average amount of flour to roll out my dough and it didn't stick to the counter but do take the time to chill the dough before rolling it out and roll the logs in plastic wrap and freeze them for a half hour or so before cutting. I just sliced mine with a knife, I don't think dental floss would have worked on it right out of the freezer. I cut all of them and placed them on pans right away but if you don't have enough pans I would stick it back in the freezer because the dough gets soft very quickly and the sliced cookies might be tough to move. My cookies spread a bit and kind of puffed up like a cinnamon roll. I did use all butter instead of shortening because of tans fats and I used all the filling on the dough and it was just enough to spread around. Usually I have to add 2-3 minutes to the bake time because I bake on stoneware (just the first batch on a cold stone) but it was close to 18 minutes before I pulled them out and they had hardly browned at all. As for people complaining about them spreading, getting too brown, being dry... I could see how slicing the cookies too thin could cause all those problems, an inch looks pretty thick...get your ruler out! While the instructions are not fool proof the cookie is beautiful and delicious, and certainly worth the time and effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Lewis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
awesome! i didn't have shortening so i used all butter. i didn't have a problem with them spreading at all. the kids and i couldn't keep our hands out of them! =D i will be making these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Huge hit at the office! After reading the reviews I eliminated the drops of cinnamon/butter/sugar mixture onto the cookie sheet. I made a glaze of confectioner sugar, milk and cinnamon and placed that on top of the cookies right after I took them out of the oven. I made a mistake with the first batch and took them out to soon because I was afraid that they were getting too brown. These cookies can handle being in the oven for 9-10 minutes (they will look dark brown but they are not burned). Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSHARRON

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
These cookies turned out perfectly! I just pulled my second batch out of the oven, and the smell is overwhelmingly delicious! I admit they were a little tricky to roll, but otherwise everything went great! I am taking them to our Thanksgiving dinner tonight, and cannot wait to see my family's response. :) PS- the cookies stayed soft even after they cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobynneKalle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
These cookies get 5 stars for taste, but the recipe gets a fail. This is a difficult, poorly written recipe. I would not recommend it for inexperienced bakers or people with little patience. Suffice to say if you decide to attempt it, do the following: Plan to chill the dough for several hours before rolling, and even then, it will still be sticky and soft, so roll it out between two sheets of wax paper (which is not an easy task in itself so alternatively, use one sheet on the bottom and flour your rolling pin lightly and continuously as you roll). Remove the top sheet and simply divide the filling evenly between the two rectangles, leaving none leftover for the 'dollop' (there is not a sufficient amount otherwise). Using the bottom sheet of paper to help you along, roll the dough into a tube. Wrap and let chill in the freezer for about half to one hour. Take a length of dental floss and cut the rolls into sections. Put one roll back to chill in the fridge or freezer while the other is baking. Bake on an insulated cookie sheet for 12 to 15 minutes (they will still spread to about 3 times their original size). If using a non insulated sheet, line it with parchment and bake for the recommended amount of time, or until JUST starting to get light brown around the edges(watch them closely). Leave to cool on the baking sheet for about 15 minutes and then carefully remove to a cooling rack. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 71-80 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States