Cinnabun Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
These were okay, but they didn't taste anything like a cinnamon bun to me. Maybe I sliced them too thinly and/or baked them too long but they were kind of dry and crunchy. Also I think the brown sugar I used in the dough was too dark so the pretty swirl effect was totally lost, and that would probably have been the only redeeming feature in this otherwise unremarkable cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blairabelle
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
great cookies, the recipe seems hard at first but actually isn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blairabelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
A fun and tasty treat! As my BF stated, more complex than just a chocolate chip cookie... which is nice! It was fun to experiment with something different. Followed recipe ingredients and amounts to a T, but I heeded the advice of most reviews to skip the dollop of filling (I, too, didn't even have enough) and froze the rolled dough for about 15 min before baking. Yum! And, true to any cinnabun, it needed a powdered sugar glaze so it got one... perhaps making it a tad too sweet, but I loved how it pulled the whole thing together. **Note, I had some cinnamon chips on hand so I rolled some up...no bueno. They tasted good, just didn't look so pretty and made the dough funny. **Overall, great cookie! Great taste, great looking, great fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Wonderful an amazing sweet treat. I never knew a cookie without chcolate in it could be so scrumptious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
these cookies are excellent!!! we made a mistake when baking them at someone else's home and used bisquick rather than flour... uh-oh!! But rather than starting over, we decided to just wing it from there, and see how they turned out. We didn't add the baking powder because of the consistency of the bisquick. To make sure they didn't crumble, we brushed butter on the top of each cookie and they turned out AMAZING. After making them before, I think I actually liked the bisquick recipe better than the original, with flour!!! Oh, and we added the glaze on the top... superb!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Well, my dough was a bit hard to work with but manageable. I kind of rolled/worked it with my fingers to get the rectangle shape. I added all the filling and then cut the rectangles in half and then rolled them (made the logs easier to move to the freezer). Then I put the logs into the freezer for 10min before cutting. Made it very easy. Let them cool on the sheets for 7-8min after taking them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This recipe was very hard to work with. I bake professionally and as the recipe is written it is impossible. The dough was greasy even after chilling overnight, I rolled out the dough on Press n Seal for ease of rolling and even then it cracked every time and I had to pinch it together. I chilled the dough after rolling up for 1 hour in the freezer before cutting, I would not have been able to be cut it otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
These cookies get 5 stars for taste, but 3 for ease - hence the 4 star rating. They were much fussier and more time-consuming than I thought they'd be!! Note - make double or quadruple the filling, and don't bother putting any on the pan beforehand. The dough is very delicate - I had to chill it to get it out of the bowl! I'd advise chilling it as a ball, split into two, and roll out one at a time, lengthwise along a sheet of wax paper (rectangle shape). Then chill the rectangles (this was easier for me as its winter and I have a freezing cold back room and side porch). Then spread the filling on, and use the wax paper to roll it lengthwise into a tight long log, wrapped in paper. Chill the log again so that it will be easy to cut with a sharp knife. I made mine only about 1/2 inch thick, because they look prettier that way. My cookies took about 15 minutes to cook, but they were chilled before-hand, and I have an elderly oven. As far as taste goes...they're delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Very Good! I didn't put the filling in on the cookie sheet before putting the cookie on. I made 3/4 of the filling recipe and put it all in the center of the cookie. I also placed the cookies in the freezer for a couple minutes before baking. Make sure you do not add too much flour to the dough when rolling out and allow to slightly warm up to room temperature before you roll into a ball. Hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yesshhFOOD!
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
These were terrific! The only thing I changed was substituting the shortening with just another 1/2cup of butter. Honestly, I think it takes more time and effort into MAKING the dough, and rolling it up. The dough after it comes out of the fridge, will be very flimsy and easily breakable. I think working quick will be best when it comes to rolling out the dough. My cookies were smaller, so I ended up with over 60 cookies! Parchment paper is useful for this, so it won't ever stick. :) And don't ever think about leaving it in there longer than 8-10 minutes. I left all my 3 batches of cookies for 8 minutes exactly and they all turned out PERFECT. If left in there too long, the bottom may burn or the cookie can get really hard so don't do that. :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yesshhFOOD!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States