Cindy's Really Good Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Sauce was too thick, didn't taste creamy at all. My boyfriend will eat almost anything and turned his note up at this. I'd rather have the one out of the box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
not a good recipe at all. dry dry dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
All of the measurements were off: the rue too thick, there was way too much cracker crumb for a topping and the whole thing was bland. In retrospect I should've known better - I did read the ingredients. It's too bad that folks rate a recipe based upon how it tasted AFTER they fixed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Definately a keeper! I'm glad I read the other reviews and doubled the sauce and thinned it out just a little. Instead of bread crumbs, I grated some cheddar onto the top before baking. It was beautiful and delicious! Thanks Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This was really good and easy. I would add more salt next time!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanon K ♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cynthiana, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
We loved these, but I did change it up a bit, hence the 4 stars instead of 5! This is a great base recipe to create something totally awesome... I used regular potatoes, doubled the sauce using light velveeta instead of the cheddar and adding a little more milk to thin it out a bit, garlic powder and seasoned salt to taste. I layered the potatoes (which I peeled), some cheese sauce, finely chopped onion, some shredded cheddar and a little blue cheese and then repeated the layers. LOVED the buttered cracker topping! This was a huge hit w/ me and my hubby! These will be made over and over! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Loved this dish. I did double up on the cheese sauce and used my usual white potatoes rather than the red ones. I used Club crackers for the topping and we were all fighting to get the top layer because it was so crunchy and delicious! Very good flavor- thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Yum!! I did double or triple the sauce since I am making lots. But layered the potatoes w/ the sauce and poured the rest over the top, thought it would be too runny but set up perfect!! Added some chopped flat leaf parsley from my garden to the cracker mix and VOILA! Best casserole potatos I've ever made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is yummy. I didn't melt the cheese in the milk mixture, I just added it between the potato layers. I used a combination of sharp cheddar and mozzarella cheese. It took an hour in the oven for me. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heart2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wooster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
The sauce is too thick as written; it won't seep between your potatoes. Add another 1/2 c. (precooked potatoes) or whole cup (raw potatoes) of milk to the written roux. Reduce the cracker crumbs--as written this recipe fits in an 8x8, and you'll never get a cup and a half of crackers spread over that unless you like a really, really thick layer of crust on top. (1 cup is sufficient for a 9x13 pan!) Personally I skipped the precooking step--Yukon gold potatoes will cook to done from totally raw in an hour in recipes like this. (I did 40 mins at 350 and 20 mins at 400, because I had to put another dish in.) Thanks for the recipe, I rather liked the addition of dry mustard, gave it a sort of a tangy bite that we enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States