Cindy's Really Good Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I think these have great potential. I would definately double the sauce. This was very dry & the potato to cheese sauce ratio was way off. I'm thinking maybe this recipe calls for the smallest red potatoes("B" size), which wasn't specified, & I just used the size that came in the 5 lb bag I bought. Now I know & will definately try again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
wow, scrumptious!!! My daughter wasn't sure she'd like it but had two full servings! I made one change: I added 3 chopped scallions to the sauce with the cheese just before pouring onto the potatoes. The sauce is very thick but cooks up delicious. Thanks a lot Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
We loved these, but I did change it up a bit, hence the 4 stars instead of 5! This is a great base recipe to create something totally awesome... I used regular potatoes, doubled the sauce using light velveeta instead of the cheddar and adding a little more milk to thin it out a bit, garlic powder and seasoned salt to taste. I layered the potatoes (which I peeled), some cheese sauce, finely chopped onion, some shredded cheddar and a little blue cheese and then repeated the layers. LOVED the buttered cracker topping! This was a huge hit w/ me and my hubby! These will be made over and over! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
The sauce is too thick as written; it won't seep between your potatoes. Add another 1/2 c. (precooked potatoes) or whole cup (raw potatoes) of milk to the written roux. Reduce the cracker crumbs--as written this recipe fits in an 8x8, and you'll never get a cup and a half of crackers spread over that unless you like a really, really thick layer of crust on top. (1 cup is sufficient for a 9x13 pan!) Personally I skipped the precooking step--Yukon gold potatoes will cook to done from totally raw in an hour in recipes like this. (I did 40 mins at 350 and 20 mins at 400, because I had to put another dish in.) Thanks for the recipe, I rather liked the addition of dry mustard, gave it a sort of a tangy bite that we enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
double the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is yummy. I didn't melt the cheese in the milk mixture, I just added it between the potato layers. I used a combination of sharp cheddar and mozzarella cheese. It took an hour in the oven for me. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heart2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wooster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Loved this dish. I did double up on the cheese sauce and used my usual white potatoes rather than the red ones. I used Club crackers for the topping and we were all fighting to get the top layer because it was so crunchy and delicious! Very good flavor- thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Like previous reviewers suggested, I doubled the sauce, and I agree it's a must. I also replaced 1/2 the cracker crumbs with garlic & herb bread crumbs to give it a little kick. They turned out amazingly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
THe taste was great....but it was not smooth...maybe to much butter...BUT it did taste great and easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Bossa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hennessey, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: El Reno, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Should have read the reviews before making this. My sauce just sat on top of the potatoes. It was too thick to move through the potatoes. Layering may be a better approach. Or adding more milk to the roux...perhaps a cup and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States