Cindy's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
FABULOUS!!! Made this for Thanksgiving yesterday, specifically for my mother-in-law, who claims to be pumpkin pie connoisseur. She said it was EXCELLENT, and that it looked like a professional bakery pie! GOOD INFO TO KNOW: Most important - MELT THE ICE CREAM IN THE MICROWAVE UNTIL IT'S *WARM*! This prevents separating. I didn't use room temp eggs (forgot). Don't add flour to thicken - it's really not needed. It will look very runny, but have faith :o) I cut the sugar to 1/2 cup. I didn't add vanilla, but will do so in the future. I used pumpkin pie spice instead of using separate spices, but still used cinnamon separately as well - and added a bit extra. The recipe WILL fill two 9" reg. depth pie crusts - do NOT fill to very top and they'll be fine. Filling will take a total of *1 full hour* AFTER the initial 15 minutes. BE SURE TO COVER YOUR CRUSTS WITH FOIL!!! I forgot, and they almost burned in the first 15 min. phase. Filling will "poof up" almost 2 inches above crust during baking and settle back down during cooling. Do not "STIR" pie!!! Not needed - have faith! :o) I will definitely make this a Thanksgiving favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEADMEISTER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baldwin, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
Very good, different, and easy to make. One suggestion: Make sure the eggs and the ice cream are at the room temperature. I even melt the ice cream in the microwave (just until it was a bit warm, not bubbling hot. I think this may help preventing the pie from seperating into layers. Oh, and serve a slice with the leftover vanilla ice cream. They go really good together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
This recipe is AWESOME. It's been a HUGE hit at event I brought it to. One pointer: Without fail everytime I've made this pie it has seperated while baking. A trick that I found works for me is after it has finished baking (about 35 mins) take it out of the oven and stir the pie in the crust. Be carful not to brake the crust on the bottom and sides. then cover only the exposed crust with foil (So it doesn't burn) then put it back in the oven for another 20 mins. It's great with home made whip cream YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
I followed the directions SO carefully, but the ice cream separated out to form a white layer on the bottom, while the pumpkin layer on top was very eggy and "bubbly". Not the thick creamy pie i was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
This will be the second year that I have made this pie, I use vanilla ice cream made with splenda and I use the splenda instead of sugar, because my husband is diabetic and he can then enjoy his pie without feeling remorse. I use Mom's recipe for home made crust and it makes the BEST pumpkin pies! Word of warning, I do not use my deep pie dish because it does not want to set up as well, use a regular pie pan for this recipe and you will have no problems at all ~ enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTIEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
This was the first pie I have ever made in my life! And with fresh pumpkin too. It was very easy to make even for a first time novice, and the result turned out great! I brought one to my kid's school and everybody loved it. They said they have never seen pies go so fast! I used frozen ready-to-make pie shells from Meijer. For the ice cream I used Bryers Light French Vanilla. I used 1/2 cup of sugar instead of 3/4 cup, since i like it lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
THE ICE CREAM ADDED TO THIS RECIPE WAS A GREAT IDEA.. I USED FRENCH VANILLA, AND GRAM CRACKER PIE CRUST. EVEN MY MOTHER OF 82 YEARS LOVED IT, AND SHE'S BEEN MAK'N PIES FOR OVER 60 YEARS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
This was my first year trying to make a pumpkin pie out of a fresh pumpkin, and I chose this recipe for the ice cream. But it turned out to be the best pumpkin pie I, or my family and in-laws, had ever had!! Thank you for making birthdays, Thanksgiving, and Christmas delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I've made this pie for the past several years, and have already rated it. Made it again for Thanksgiving dinner yesterday. This pie is THE BEST pumpkin pie recipe ever. My family and friends RAVE about it every year. For the ice cream, I use Breyers vanilla bean. I always use canned pumpkin. The cooking time far exceeds the amount of time given on this recipe - AND the pie always inflates a lot higher in the oven, but settles back down once it cools. Just wanted to mention these things in case anyone is making this recipe for the first time. This recipe is a family treasure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
Great flavor with the ice cream. Many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States