Cindy's Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I would like one thing. Saute the rice till it turns white. then add wet stuff. THis will make the rice grain for grain. I am from New Orleans and this is how i was taught. Other wise. Right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I can't believe I've been published again! This really is a fantastic recipe for such an easy one! Like I said in the little blurb, you can add just about anything you want, even leftover rotisserie chicken. It will be the best meal you've ever made!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This is a great recipe missing only the main ingredient, Sliced OKRA. Needs at least a cup of okra, medium pods slice about 1/4 in thick. Still it is so good I will give 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I had some challenges for our dinner tonight. I’m in Naples now but I’m going home in another day, so I wanted to come up with something using ingredients I already had. I didn’t want to go to the store for MORE stuff, nor did I want anything wasted. Also, I’ve got limitations, because of Hubs’ sensitive innards, with heat and spice, both of which I generally have to eliminate. With a little research it became apparent that jambalaya, which I’ve never had before, was the way to go. I came across a lot of good recipes for it, but none so simple, so straightforward, so uncomplicated, as Cindy’s. Some reviewers commented her recipe was a little weak on spice – first, that’s a GOOD thing for Hubs' innards and, second, that’s easy enough to fix, right? If you want more spice, add more spice! I decided on this recipe but knew I would make a couple of small changes – I would cook the rice separately, only because I make every attempt to limit the amount of starch I consume. And I used fresh, chopped, red-ripe tomatoes instead of canned. This was, in a word, delicious. Hubs, SO stingy with 5-star ratings, gave this an immediate 5. Weak spice? Maybe a little – but Hubs just sprinkled a little extra Zatarain’s Creole Seasoning on his serving to his liking. I thought it was just right. When you’ve got great flavor, you don’t need to drown a dish in spices and/or “heat.” Except for family favorites I don’t often make the same dish twice. This one will be an exception.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I made 1 change to this. I used Quinoa instead of Rice. I also added some chicken. This was GREAT! I will be making this again. Thanks Cindy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I really enjoyed this jambalaya. I used converted white rice like Uncle Bens. Converted rice holds it's shape and texture in rice recipes and casseroles. Bighunk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Great and easy! I looked at several other jambalaya recipes from this site but chose this one because it had the fewest steps....no taking meat out and putting it back in. I used a ginger chicken broth I had leftover from making chicken salad the other day, and it added a nice layer to the jambalaya (the ginger was very subtle). I meant to add a bit of chicken base to the broth since it was homemade and unseasoned, but I forgot so had to add more salt to the finished product than I would have liked. I will definitely make again using a well seasoned broth next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Excellent recipe! Good with the cajun seasoning mix from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethany, Illinois, USA
Living In: Guyton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
We thought this was fabulous! Gotta love the one pot supper - less dishes :) If you're adding shrimp, make sure rice is almost done before adding. I threw mine in too early and the overcooked the shrimp. Oh well - didn't ruin the dish. I will certainly be making this again - thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I made it with half can of diced tomatoes and it still came out great. My youngest kept saying how good it smell and my eldest practically scrapped the rice from the bottom of the pan. Thanks Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States