Cindy's Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Prepared for Fat Tuesday. Used basmati and added small chicken chunks. For us, flavor missing something. Added fresh-ground pepper at the table and it helped. Next day flavor was completely improved (4 star), so my suggestion is make ahead. Unfortunately this is not a dish that can be simmered for too long. Lucky that my supermarket carries Conecuh sausage because it surely made a diff - great smoky taste. Thanks for the hint and the recipe, Cindy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
This was really delicious! I had to make just a couple minor changes - didn't have celery or peppers on hand so left them out, and we have a chicken allergy so I substituted vegetable broth. I also ended up having to hold it off for a whole hour, as one of my family was late getting home, but I just kept adding broth as needed with the heat on very low. It was a huge hit - so flavorful and very filling. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by harrywdog
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
This was my first time making Jambalaya and I was not disappointed. It was easy and the flavors were perfect. I made just a few tweaks: I added blacked chicken and mushrooms. I doubled the cajun spice because I bought the generic supermarket blend and assumed it was half salt. I left out the additional salt. Also, at the recommendation of others, I substituted the can of diced tomatoes for the smaller (10 oz) can of Rotel's tomatoes and chiles. That was a good suggestion because it added depth of flavor without making a tomato soup. It was a big hit this Fat Tuesday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harrywdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I followed the recipe pretty closely, except left out the bay leaves, and omitted the salt because I sprinkled in extra Cajun seasoning and it had salt in it already. This is delicious! It's also easy and uses one pot. I made one mistake: didn't notice my frozen shrimp were unpeeled. So we had peel em and eat em jambalaya. Fortunately it was just us! Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Fantastic! Cooked 2 slices bacon set aside and crumble, add to top before serving. Cook sausage and veggies in bacon fat and bit of oil as directed. Also added 1C chopped, cooked chicken, 1C cooked ham, cubed, same time as shrimp. Super yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HisMrs
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This was easy, other than peeling the 2 pounds of jumbo shrimp.....but that's my own issue, lol. Turned out perfect! All 4 kids, ages ranging 17-6, cleaned their plates!!!! My wonderful husband even packed a dish to take to work for lunch tomorrow!!!! Thank you so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
"Cindy's Jambalaya" totally rocks! I spiced mine up a lot for our tastes. I loved it! Thank you Cindy in Pensacola for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
use a good sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Simple to follow -- helped me when I was in a bind with just a few ingredients at home. I only had eight frozen shrimp and no celery, but it turned out just fine. Recipes like this one are the best -- easy to adapt and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Very good recipe I added fresh tomatoes, and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States