Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Yummm, I love this! Instead of cooking the potatoes in the water I use 2 bottles of clam juice. Makes it more clammy. I had submitted this about 7 years ago and I've changed it a bit since then. Still using the Knoor Brand Leek Soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This is beyond awesome. I didn't have clam juice as Cindy recommended to cook the potatoes in, but I did have chicken broth. I had about four large celery ribs that needed to be used, so I just chopped it up along with the carrots and threw them in the bacon fat with the potatoes. (I had to add just a little more previously reserved bacon fat to the pan, only because there was more veg. I know I'm not the only one who saves bacon fat in the fridge!) I followed the recipe exact. I'm the only one who loves clam chowder in this house, which is fine with me. I'm NOT SHARING. I ate two bowls with homemade ranch oyster crackers. I feel better already! NOTE: Next time, I'll be sure to cook the potatoes with the clam juice. Good tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Very easy and very tasty! I followed the recipe as written, using fat free half and half. I did add about a teaspoon of thyme because I think it adds a richness to the clam flavor. I served this with homemade Caraway Rye from this site and a green salad. Turned a gloomy wet day right around. Thanks Cindy, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This is OMG good !!! Followed the recipe, using clam juice instead of water for the potatoes. Only change made is my method of cooking. I don't have a stove, so I made it in my electric pressure cooker, set to brown. Thanks so much for sharing this one, Cindy !!!! My new clam chowder recipe, for sure !!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARYL4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA
Living In: Mohave Valley, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
My family loved this recipe. It tasted more like potato soup than clam chowder maybe it was the bacon. I will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweettreats
Home Town: Orangevale, California, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I don't eat seafood, but I made this for my husband and he gave it 5 stars for taste. I give it 5 stars for being so quick and easy. Thanks Cindy for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Holy guacamole, my craving has been quenched! This chowder was just Terrific! I did add chopped onion. That was only thing I changed. Very flavorful, the ff half and half was just the ticket, save some calories but did not sacrifice the flavor. My kind of chowder! I served it with sour dough bread. Thanks for this delish dish Cindy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This is a savoury chowder. I followed the directions exactly as written by Cindy. (I did buy minced clams by mistake but I actually like the smaller pieces).Even if you do not like clam chowder I think you would like this one, it does not taste clamy at all. I made it in the morning, planning on reheating it for dinner in a double boiler but it was so flavoursome I ended up eating a bowl for breakfast. Served with oyster crackers one night and Cheddar Bay Biscuits the next night. Will with out a doubt be making this all winter long. Awesome recipe Cindy, thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This is easily one of the best soups I have ever had! 1 of the top 5. It has so much flavor and is so simple to make that my 13yr old did it by herself. The only change I made was I only had 6 slices of bacon and not 1/2 pound. The combination of leeks, bacon and onions was incredible! This soup is a keeper! Thanks Cindy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val-Flowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This Clam Chowder was the BEST I'VE EVER HAD. My boyfriend agrees. I put two leek soup packages in it which in total was 144 g instead of 100 g.. (by an accident lol it still tasted good). And I didn't have 946 mL of half half so I used 500 ml half/half and the rest with just milk. I loved the chunky texture and I had to hide it from my BF so he wouldn't eat the leftovers. I served it with garlic bread and it was to DIE FOR! 5 STARS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States