Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This is the best chowder ever. I do add two bottles clam juice along with two additional cans of clams. A small amout of thyme gives it the taste we get from chowder in Monterey, Ca. it is good made straight from the recipe. Been making it for several years now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Good Chowder recipe. I added a chopped onion and can of corn and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Followed it almost exactly, it was good, and it made a bunch! I cook my bacon on a cookie sheet in the oven so I did that again and just put the potatoes and carrots in clam juice to cook. I think the only thing that I would try differently next time is not add water to cover the potatoes, but use a bottle of clam juice. I think maybe more clams next time too. Will for sure be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
DH absolutly loved this chowder, nothing needs to be changed or altered in any way. Will be made time and time again!! Thanks Cindy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I made this tonight for dinner. I followed the recipe exactly as written only adding 2 stalks of celery. All I can say is fantastic! Thank you Cindy for an easy to prepare and great tasting soup. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: La Mirada, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Made this when I got home from work. was simple, easy and soo good the only thing I did was I had forgot to add the leek soup so when I had tasted it I thought it was too bland added butter and then remembered the soup added that and my boyfriend gorged himself on it. It was delish. Absolutely fabulous. It didn't thicken up but I am okay with that I know it was because I added too much water but I loved it as is. Will be making this again. Also I did cook it with clam juice but didn't have enough to cook the potatos in it fully and added water with chicken bullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ariessweetie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murphysboro, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I made this 2 days in a row! 1st time I followed the recipe to the exact. It was good! But it did not thicken up for me. I think I added way to much water. But the second day I added a bottle of clam juice and a 3rd can of chopped clams and 1 Tbs. of flour almost at the end of cooking time to thicken. And it came out way better than the 1st time I made it. It was delicious! My husband and daughter had seconds and my husband ate it again for breakfast. He said it was the best Clam Chowder he ever had. This recipe will be part of fave recipe collection and I will be making this for the months and years to come. Thank you so much xo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Had a disappointing experience at a very good local restaurant with their fish chowder, so decided to try one on my own. So glad I did - this is FANTASTIC!!! As many other reciewers, I cut the half-and-half with 1% milk, and it was still wonderful. Thanks for the great recipe - it will be present at out next dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I followed Cindy's added recommendation of using 2 bottles clam broth in place of water to cook the potatoes. I also added a bit of thyme as I love the flavor of thyme in my chowder. I live on the Jersey Shore and this by far is one of the BEST clam chowders I have ever had and SO quick and simple to prepare. No more running out to the pricey seafood restaurants to get my fix. My husband is a big coffee drinker so we always have plenty of half and half in house (we use fat free) and I keep all the other ingredients on hand so I can whip this delicious chowder up whenever the whim hits. Thank you Cindy this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This is my first try at clam chowder and this stuff is Delicious with a capital D! Hard to believe something this simple could taste this good!! Note to self: Drain away about a third of the bacon grease after removing bacon, salt potatoes very lightly, no carrots, and use low fat half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States