Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I have been looking for a clam chowder recipe. This one is the best. My family and I love it. I have made it several times and its a winner every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This won me rave reviews from my Oregon coast neighbors! One of them is a champion chowder contest title holder, and he begged me for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra K Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by panagiotapappas
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This is a great recipe and really easy! I used pre-cooked bacon and used canola oil and 3tbls of butter to saute the carrots, potatoes, celery and onion (I added two stalks of celery and 1 small minced onion). My whole family loved it and it made a good sized batch. Also, I used low fat half and half and nobody could tell the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by panagiotapappas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Yum! I tried to combine this recipe with the Newport Clam Chowder recipe, since both were rated so high. I used 4 strips of hickory bacon, 1 onion, 3 ribs of celery, 1 package of leek soup mix (instead of two), and whole milk in place of half and half. I also took the advice to use clam juice in place of water, and since I had some seafood stock on hand, I used only one jar of clam juice with corn starch to thicken instead of flour. Total potatoes used: about 3/4 lb, white and black pepper and salt to taste. So good! The taste definitely improved after letting it set for a few hours. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Excellent and easy! Next time I'll make the day before so the flavors can meld together better since it tasted even better the second day. I might add another can of clams as well. Didn't use the bacon as we don't eat it here, but didn't take away from the great flavor. Definitely a fall favorite now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
add clam juice instead of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Could not taste the clams at all even though I boiled the potatos with clam juice. that being said excellent soup, just wouldn't serve it as clam chowder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I would give this ten stars if I could. This was absolutely amazing. I served this at a dinner party the other night and everyone raved and wanted the recipe. The only changes I made were: I used only four pieces of bacon, did not use salt or pepper, and used 4 cans of chopped clams. I had only light cream so I used that, but it is very similar to half and half. I used the juice from the canned clams to cook the potatoes in, adding a little water to just cover the potatoes. The soup turned out nice and thick and the flavor, well, I can't find the words right now. Thanks for this wonderful chowder recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Wow! Tasted clam chowder at various restaurants in Boston and this one rates right up there with the best. The only change I made was to use Land of Lakes fat free half and half - just for health reasons. Some of our local grocery stores do not have the potato leak soup and after I tried this soup I knew I needed it -so I went back and bought six of them so I'd have it on hand. Will make again and again! Next time I'm going to add a can of minced clams to get a little more clam flavor - but good as it is! Also, definitely use red potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Sullivan Bernheimer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Whole family loved it the first time. Second time i used bottle of clam juice instead of water for the potatoes, and I used fat free half-and-half which cuts out at least half the fat for a little less guilt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States