Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
add clam juice instead of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Could not taste the clams at all even though I boiled the potatos with clam juice. that being said excellent soup, just wouldn't serve it as clam chowder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I would give this ten stars if I could. This was absolutely amazing. I served this at a dinner party the other night and everyone raved and wanted the recipe. The only changes I made were: I used only four pieces of bacon, did not use salt or pepper, and used 4 cans of chopped clams. I had only light cream so I used that, but it is very similar to half and half. I used the juice from the canned clams to cook the potatoes in, adding a little water to just cover the potatoes. The soup turned out nice and thick and the flavor, well, I can't find the words right now. Thanks for this wonderful chowder recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Wow! Tasted clam chowder at various restaurants in Boston and this one rates right up there with the best. The only change I made was to use Land of Lakes fat free half and half - just for health reasons. Some of our local grocery stores do not have the potato leak soup and after I tried this soup I knew I needed it -so I went back and bought six of them so I'd have it on hand. Will make again and again! Next time I'm going to add a can of minced clams to get a little more clam flavor - but good as it is! Also, definitely use red potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Whole family loved it the first time. Second time i used bottle of clam juice instead of water for the potatoes, and I used fat free half-and-half which cuts out at least half the fat for a little less guilt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Hi Cindy! I tweeked this for personal preference only. Used 3 regular sized potatoes and 4 rashers of bacon, 1/2 tsp thyme, one envelope of leek soup and 20 oz. 1/2 and 1/2. It's just my husband and me to feed so I scaled your recipe down to fit our needs. Have leftovers for lunch. Excellent! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Made exactly as written. Hard to find leek soup, but worth the search. Don't try to substitute. Soup mix MADE the flavor. I am not a big fan of clam chowder, but this one changed my mind. It was beyond AWESOME. Hubby loved it too. Next time will double for more leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Hearty and delicious, definitely 5 star worthy or better. Only tweak I made was adding a rib of finely diced celery. Thanks Cindy for the fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I need to give this 50 starrs!!! This is the most amazing clam chowder I have ever tasted. Yummy, Easy and fast. I did add almost half a small jar of clam juice. It was totally amazing recipe my Family of 8 loved this and it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
The Knorr Leek Soup mix is hard to find - I googled and found it at a nearby store I seldom frequent. It is an essential component! Another reviewer suggested adding 1 tsp thyme - if you do so, use 1/2 tsp because it contributes a strong flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States