Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
So easy to make and delicious as well. I left out the carrots, added a chopped shallot and about 4 medium stalks of chopped celery. Used all clam juice to cook the veggies. Family enjoyed. Served with clam cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
So delicious! My husband said this was the best clam chowder he's ever had. It was so rich and tasty. Definitely a new staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
More clams & use all juice... Add some red or white wine vinegar. Probably 2 to 4 tablespoons per pot. Trust me I was skeptical but after reading another recipe from this site I tried the chowder with out the vinegar and it was good. I added the vinegar and I fell in love. Now I even add vinegar to Campbells or Pregresso clam chowder. Try it and you will be hooked. I have had alot of NE clam chowders in my life...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Delicious! I used Fat Free 1/2 & 1/2 and was perfect. Added some celery, onion and fresh garlic for more depth of flavor. Used white wine in place of water. Found Knorr Leek soup base at Meijers. Next time I will thicken with a little flour, we tend to like our soups thicker. Used Snow's and Bumble Bee clams. Bumble Bee is much better worth seeking out. Thank you Cindy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Pfluger Long

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I followed this recipe for the most parts to make my first batch of clam chowder. I am fairly new to the kitchen and wouldn't even go so far as to call myself any sort of cook BUT my chowder was A-mazing! This recipe is delicious and easy and it also gives room to let each individual personalize to his/her own liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Excellent!! Couldn't find the leek soup mix so used Lipton onion soup mix. It was absolutely an easy fantastically good tasting recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paulina, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Made this to take to the beach for a weekend. LOVED by all! Oh...my...God...it is delicious! I particularly like the velvety-ness of the soup base. It doesn't 'break' or curdle like some recipes. Ohhhh....I need to make some more....!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLEPUFFY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
my first review and i use a lot of the recipes here but Cindy THANK YOU! my family loves this, i mentioned yesterday i had the stuff (shop day) to make the chowder and hubby said when TONIGHT LOL, hes already been into it and 1st thing my JV footballer said when he was picked up today from practice was DID YOU MAKE IT...they call it MOMS chowder and i admit i let them ;) I do modify a little but this is AWESOME thanks! i use 2 quarts half n half one reg one fat free and only 2 leek soup pkgs due to salt issues (hubby) and i add 12-16 oz bacon, lots taters diced onion, carrots and celery its very hearty for the 4 of us and we pray for leftover ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Very good, and relatively easy to make. My wife found the leek taste a little overwhelming. We resolved that problem by deleting the water in step 2, and using 2 (8 oz.) bottles of clam juice instead. The taste is then wonderfully balanced. Red potatoes work best. Leaving the peel on not only adds to the nutritional value of the chowder, but also adds visual appeal. The hardest part of this recipe might be simply finding the leek soup mix (knorr brand) - there's really no substitute. To make this a vegetarian dish, omit the bacon. Melt 3 TBSP of butter, heat until fragrant, then add the potatoes and carrots .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Absolutely delicious and so tasty! Very easy to make! The hardest part about this recipe was finding the leek soup as it is no longer sold near me. I finally found it 4 hours away when I was bringing my dtr to college, I looked in Wegmans super market and found some, so I bought 4 packets and made the soup twice. I also used clam juice to cook the potatoes in, just all in all a tasty soup that we all loved. I knew I wouldn't be disappointed once I found the leek soup mix. Thanks so much for sharing, Cindy! Will be making more of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Delmar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States