Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
After reading all of the great reviews, I was a little disappointed in this recipe. It is way too heavy on the potatoes and too light on clams for our taste. I only used 2 1/2 potatoes, and it was still too much. However, I think the base for the chowder is very good. Next time, I'll use a bit less potatoes and at least one more can of clams. Using fat free half and half did not detract from the flavor and richness of the soup, so don't be afraid to try that! With some tweaking, I'm sure I'll try this chowder again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Wow Cindy, this recipe was awesome. I really enjoyed it and the only change I made was to use evaporated milk instead of half-n-half. And I used cut up razor clams. Very good should be able to give this one more stars! Good job and thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAMMA KATSY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
One of our favorites. Perfect consistency, easy & delicious. My husband asks for this every week. My 16 year old son claims "this is like REAL chowder" (not thick/floury canned stuff). Thanks so much for sharing! Would give 10 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This clam chowder has become a hit with the entire family.My ("picky eater") 8 year old grandson tried eating some but only after I bribed him. Now he wants to come over for dinner whenever I make this clam chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MN Nice
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This soup is delightful! Liked everything about it. The veggies and bacon are a wonderful part of the soup. It is the perfect creaminess. I read a lot of the reviews, including Cindy's, and did the following: Added 2 stalks of celery, 1 extra can of clams, and used 2 bottles of clam juice to cook the potatoes, celery, and carrots in. Thanks for sharing, Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Easy and excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Florida, USA
Living In: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I use an extra can of whole clams and I also use fat free half and half but we love this recipe and have used it several times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Best clam chowder EVER!!! So easy and sooo tasty!! The only thing I did different was replace the water with clam juice. Can't wait to make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Good stuff. I might try to tweak it a little bit. It tasted a bit too salty to me. Beside that it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobo's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Utica, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Delicious and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States